Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Cussedness versus the Legion of Nitwits


I am certain that everyone is familiar with my temper. The only thing that comes close to matching me is a half-starved junkyard dog.

The roll call for the Legion of Nitwits is:

Lawrence Dagstine
Nickolaus Pacione
Nicholas Tillemans
Mike Philbin
Kristy Tallman

Small press authors whose egos are larger than their (non-existent) talent.

One in particular has been hassling me of late: Kristy Tallman.

I am copy-pasting this across my blogs to be certain that she sees it. She has labeled me many nasty things, including a “meth/coke addict.” She did that because I discussed the fact that I have been clean for 20 years in comments at Rusty Nail.

Here’s what GUD Magazine said about her novel All Soul’s Faire

Kristy likes to make her betters appear small. So she posts that picture of me that i have on my website. Well, I’m in my mid 50s and there is no hiding it.

There is no way that I’ll ever look Kristy’s age again. But there is a new picture up at my website (it’s at the bottom of the bio) of what i looked like at the start of my professional career. Amazons had just won the World Fantasy award for best anthology and I had sold a trilogy to a publishing company that i would later work for as an editor.

You will not see any of the hard-eyed meanness that you see in all of Kristy’s photos of herself.

My looks have faded with age, but you can’t take away from me the fact that I was attractive enough in my youth that Asimov kissed me. Nor can you take away my talent that has grown better over the years.

I want to challenge Kristy to go back to my website where she stole my picture from, take the worst piece of my writing she has found there, and compare it to the best piece she has ever produced. One full scene each.

There’s plenty to chose from, Kristy. There’s even a couple of typos if you look hard enough. So give it your best shot.

Come on, Kristy. Let me help you. There are two stories on my website that have some tiny flaws in them. I switched one story from first to third and did not manage to correct all the pronouns when I decided to alter the story from one to the other. The other story was switched from third to first.

And again, I missed it in two places. Now, I could go back and fix those, but I want to be fair about this.

Go on and grab them and show EVERYONE how much better you are than I am.

We could post both samples at a neutral spot and have an open poll posted.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 22, 2008 by in Janrae Frank and tagged , , , .

Janrae Frank

