Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Recurrent Nightmare


I have not seen any of them since 1997. Yet, I still have nightmares. The dreams often launch from a memory and then turn strange. There was one that I kept having that finally stopped when it resolved itself.

I was in this incredible mansion. H was there, Mike and Don, and Mickey. I was cornered. Sovay was little and clutching at me. In that beautiful modern mansion there was a hidden stairway that i was terrified to climb. It was old and rickety and the room at the top seemed to threaten us both. As the series of dreams progressed over a period of months, I eventually forced myself to climb those stairs.

Inside the room was all the good things I had lost. My first stuffed dog, Fluffy, and all my toys and dreams. (Bear with the fact that the good things hurt worse than the bad and my eyes tear up remembering the good things). I had one more dream of that room.

I found a door on the opposite side of the room that i had never seen before. Sovay and I went through that door in the final dream and there was this huge room like a military hanger and in the center sat an F-16. I climbed into the cabin, switched everything on and blew a hole in the wall with the missiles. Then Sovay and I roared out of there.

And the dreams stopped.

6 comments on “Recurrent Nightmare

  1. CritGit
    May 20, 2008

    Makes me think of Brazil, the movie, which is an excellent thing indeed.

  2. Mike Brendan
    May 21, 2008

    When I was young, I had a recurring dream that something evil in the guise of Cookie Monster was trying to eat me. Fast forward to age 14, after moving into a new house. One dream I’m in the living room and here comes teh ebil. Realizing this was a child’s dream, evil Cookie Monster thing ended up getting a beating and chucked out of my house. I haven’t had a nightmare that I couldn’t control since.

  3. cussedness
    May 21, 2008

    Lucid dreaming is awesome. When I finally got those dreams to stop, it was by employing lucid dreaming techniques.

  4. cussedness
    May 21, 2008

    It just hit me… Eaten by Cookie Monster? *Snicker*

  5. Mike Brendan
    May 21, 2008

    It wasn’t Cookie Monster… it just looked like him so he could get close enough. I had two lines of reason running through my young brain at the time:

    1) Cookie Monster eats cookies. Says so right in his name.
    2) He’s a Muppet — I could tell the difference between real and illusion then and I understood to some degree how it works. And yet I still laughed at every NOM NOM NOM on the tube.

    BTW, NPR did an interview with Cookie a few months ago.

  6. cussedness
    May 21, 2008

    I understand. I love Cookie Monster. Oddly the movie character that often showed up on Sovay’s dreams and scared her was ET. Still, it’s interesting how things in our realities shape our dreams. As a kid I had a recurrent dream of being chased by two gorillas and I would hide under a grand piano until they disappeared.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 20, 2008 by in Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

