Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Now that I have stopped throwing tantrums…


I spent nearly an hour at the eye doctor’s yesterday. I thought it was going to be a simple matter of getting new glasses. It turned out that I’m in the early stages of cataracts. I won’t have many details until I see my regular doctor on the 10th.

One of my uncles was born with cataracts and went completely blind by age two. Mama owned a dog that would sometimes snap at Pete. Since he could not see, he could not easily handle the dog’s reactions. One day, when he was about three or four, the dog bit him. Pete grabbed the dog and held on very tight and bit the dog back … and kept biting. After that the dog never so much as growled at him.

The situation is a pisser, but there are more options for dealing with cataracts today than there were when my uncle went blind from them. Odds are that, while this is going to be a rocky ride, it will all turn out okay in the end.

2 comments on “Now that I have stopped throwing tantrums…

  1. susie hawes
    June 13, 2008

    Hon, I got the same news two years ago. I need to make an appointment to see an opthomologist next week to see about doing some work on my eyes, but so far, other than double vision and a little clouniness, it qhasn’t been too bad. The doctor may have been wrong. 😛

  2. Janice Green
    June 21, 2008

    Don’t make my mistake. If you plan to have the surgery, do both eyes. I thought that since I could only afford to do one eye, I would at least be half-way there. Now my eyes are fighting each other because one is extremely near-sighted (as always) and the other is seeing 20/20 except for reading. I’m going nuts!!!

    http://hiswhisperings.wordpress.com/2008/05/27/giving-my-three-eyes-to-jesus/

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 4, 2008 by in Janrae Frank and tagged , .

Janrae Frank

