Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

In case you missed the point, Lars…


Lars said at range’s blog:

I’m slightly disabled. So? And I work part time and socialize. Blogs and message boards being addictive, yes, but being the only social vehicle is like calling it a repressive crutch (that’s just a feeble excuse). And, in turn, dubbing yourself a cripple. If you don’t have a social life, perhaps it’s because you spend too much time in virtual time, on a computer, or the blogosphere rather than trying to make friends right outside your door. You can even do something as simple as sit on a front lawn chair and breathe the fresh air.

I am not “dubbing” myself a cripple, Dagstine. I AM a cripple. Deal with it. Next time we’re at a convention at the same time, I will be glad to roll up my pants legs and show it to you.

14 comments on “In case you missed the point, Lars…

  1. SirOtter
    August 18, 2008

    Lazy me, I’ve just gotten the first verse of my Mikado parody done. I think it fits Daggy pretty well.

    A pandering wastrel I —
    A thing of venal screeches,
    Of sucking up to Peaches,
    And telling many a lie!
    My reasoning is flawed
    As ’round the web I rampage,
    And to your bloggish webpage
    I turn my jaundiced eye!
    I turn my jaundiced eye!

  2. cussedness
    August 18, 2008

    I like it a lot, Otter. I have forgotten what the term is for it.

  3. khazar
    August 19, 2008

    Filking?

  4. cussedness
    August 19, 2008

    Filking! Yes, I used to love filking. It was one of my favorite parts of conventions.

    Natalie and I have been talking about getting me one of those little mobility scooters so that I can start going to conventions again. I miss them.

  5. SirOtter
    August 19, 2008

    Well, sort of. I’ve always thought of filking as being specific to SF, but I suppose we can call nitwit parody filksongs, too. I just never thought of myself as a filkster. :{)

  6. cussedness
    August 19, 2008

    I never had the patience to write filksongs, but I enjoyed singing them with friends. The one that sticks in my mind is hearing a friend with a marvelous baritone singing one about Dracula and Transylvania set to the tune of Oklahoma. I had a difficult time singing along with him since I could not keep a straight face when we came to certain lines.

  7. SirOtter
    August 19, 2008

    I used to do a mean Dragon Road, back in the day. Good song for a basso. Trouble is, only dogs can hear the last note of the chorus because it’s so low.

  8. SirOtter
    August 19, 2008

    Dadgummit, there are a couple of lines of Dragon Road I can’t remember, and I can’t find it on any of the usual filk sites. Does anybody remember this one? It dates from the days of the original D&D game in the late 70s, and is sung to the tune of Thunder Road by Robert Mitchum (yes, the actor).

  9. SirOtter
    August 19, 2008

    Never mind. I sat out on the patio with a smoke and sang it, and the words came back to me.

    Dragon Road

    ‘Twas on the third of August, out of Amonaray,
    Half a dozen horses and a wagon-load of hay.
    There had been a party, hangovers galore,
    Our clerics were unconscious and our fighters saddlesore.

    Chorus:
    And there were dragons, dragons, flying o’er the road,
    Wyverns all around us and behind us yellow mold
    And there were orcses, orcses, filling all the woods,
    They all jumped upon us because we were lawful goods.

    We were not discouraged, we were set to fight,
    But we had drunk ten gallons of the finest wine that night.
    Sir Boris was dishevelled, Sir Percy was the same,
    And the elf that traveled with us was too drunk to know his name.

    Chorus

    Our fighters bravely battled, but they were all outclassed,
    Thirty hit points to the legs and forty to the ass.
    We finally woke our wizard, he would make them pay –
    But he really pulled a boner when he mumbled spells that day.

    Chorus

    His fireball misfired, his lightning missed the mark,
    And soon we found our party all encased in total dark.
    He tried to polymorph them, that stupid, ancient louse.
    We did not think it funny when Sir Kay became a mouse.

    Chorus

    The dragons ate the horses, the orcs ate even more,
    And chewing on the wagon was an ugly manticore.
    Our bard, he finally saved us, for he could do no wrong,
    He really had them running when he belted out this song.

    Chorus

  10. cussedness
    August 19, 2008

    😀 That’s is a lot of fun, Otter.

  11. SirOtter
    August 19, 2008

    That’s why you need to get yourself one of those scooters and start going to cons again. I get enough con-suite alcohol in me, I’m apt to sing the thing. You’ve heard me speak; I sing about the same. :{D I’m seriously considering going to the New York comic-con next June. Bring plenty of booze.

  12. cussedness
    August 19, 2008

    I’m looking into getting a mobility scooter so that I can start going to cons again.

    I want to get an absinthe kit from the local brewer’s supply and take some bottles of it to the next con I attend.

    Natalie brews some great mead.

  13. SirOtter
    August 19, 2008

    Absinthe makes the heart grow fonder!

  14. SirOtter
    August 19, 2008

    And I looooove me some mead!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 18, 2008 by in Janrae Frank, lawrence dagstine and tagged , , , .

Janrae Frank

