Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Co-Owner of ThatPoem Harpooninated by the Cuss


Just over a month ago two friends of mine asked me to rescue their favorite poetry site.  The owners had divorced and Sue was thinking of closing it down.  I made an offer for it, intending to carry the costs and allow my friends, Steven and Theresa to run it.  At one time it was a lovely place.  Interestingly, there were only two males connected to the site.  Steven and the now ex-husband.  The ex-hubby turned out to be a predator and a bully.

When he heard that I was interested in taking the site over, he locked me out.  He was the tech for it and his wife had no access to the master ftp codes and such matters.  Then he came back with an offer.  He wanted a piece of my publishing company in exchange for the site.  He smelled money.

Sorry, Charlie.  If I had given you a piece of the action, I would then have had to send out the Unholy Squirrels of Doom to chop your head off within twenty-four hours.

Needless to say, my answer was “fuck off” and within four hours I had a domain name and hosting and techs set up for a new poetry site to be run by Steven and Theresa with guidance from Sue.  The new site is Thatotherpoem.com

Once we’re live, I hope that some of guys among my readers will stop over there so that Steven does not continue to be the lone male among a horde of young female poets.

I’m adding Rich Ristow’s name into the tags in the hope that it will attract his attention and he’ll poke his head in at least once, since he’s an expert on poetry and could probably make some helpful posts on the message board once we have it up.

17 comments on “Co-Owner of ThatPoem Harpooninated by the Cuss

  1. thevern
    August 27, 2008

    Best of luck with this new venture. I feel I over look poetry within my projects which is bizarre as I have a love for writing it!

    I’m sure you’ll make a success of it.

    Vern.

  2. CritGit
    August 27, 2008

    There are other men, glad to say, and not all the women bother me. Just the ones that find it funny to punch me or nick me bananas. 😦

    Big thanks from us anyway. 😀

  3. cussedness
    August 27, 2008

    Thanks, Vern. I love bizarre poetry when it is well done.

  4. cuss kid
    August 27, 2008

    women like like me?

  5. cuss kid
    August 27, 2008

    women like me @ the punch part. I”m known to punch guys occasioanly

  6. thevern
    August 27, 2008

    Reading this has actually sparked my interest again and I think I’ll dig out some of my older works and possibly rework some of them.

    You like bizarre? I think that would sum mine up lol. I don’t think a lot of what I’ve written would mean much to a lot of people, mainly as it was quite personal and meaningful to me. Then again, that’s part of the fun of poetry, how the reader interprits the work.

    Vern.

  7. SirOtter
    August 28, 2008

    The world desperately needs as many poetry outlets as possible, open to as many styles as possible. As for bizarre poems, I’ve written (and actually been paid for!) a Wild West poem about cheese, a dig at late night music ads and an ode to odds and ends. I’ve also got poems about caterpillar stampedes, horror movies, Tupperware, anglocentrism and Rasputin. Does meter matter? Is it rhyme time? Bring it on!

  8. cuss kid
    August 28, 2008

    I only write poems that rhyme. I’m tto a big fan of ones that don’t.

  9. Adam Lowe
    August 28, 2008

    I’ll have to take a look. I used to be an extremely prolific poet (most of it was crap, of course), but I look forward to writing more when my schedule allows.

  10. SirOtter
    August 28, 2008

    I don’t mind reading vers libre, but I need to write poetry in rhyme. Unless I’m doing an archy & mehitabel pastiche or something like that.

  11. cussedness
    August 28, 2008

    Sounds cool, Otter. Butter tubs.

  12. SirOtter
    August 28, 2008

    Butter tubs, indeed. :{D

  13. Shirt
    September 9, 2008

    Sorry to hear that thatpoem and the original crew are now disbanded, but as a keen conributor, for the last few months, I was very upset to hear today (9th Sept)about what had happened! I had no inkling of any of this and was just enjoying the site for what it is. I did not realise that S & R had split up or were having troubles connected with the site. So having been left in the dark, like everyone else….what happens now?

    Having been very pleased with the site, I now believe that things have changed and I don’t know whether it’s going to be something I want to continue with. It’s very sad!

    Shirt

    PS I am over 45 and I’m sure Steve wasn’t alone with young female poets, I can think of a few around my age and several men!

  14. cussedness
    September 9, 2008

    The part about Steven, who is a doll, was partly tongue in cheek based on his bleetings to me in IM about not enough guys being part of the site.

    Have you had a look at the new site that is being built by Steven, Sue, and Theresa?

  15. Shirt
    September 10, 2008

    Thanks…..poor Steven he was being teased and hassled a bit, by us females, but I think in reality he enjoys it all. Heh! Heh! Nice to meet you btw
    TC

    PS yes checked out new one, ta!

  16. CritGit
    September 10, 2008

    I admit nothing. 😐

  17. Birthe
    November 10, 2008

    Steve loves his women and especially he loves to be teased, he’s playing with people so long til they tease back… well he did this on me.

    And about the actual topic: Long live TOP!
    Also I still don’t understand why all this stuff happened just because a new page was opened up… I mean there has always been more than one poetry site on the web and actually I think it’s quite alright if there’s more than one.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

