Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Dagstine wants to join HWA


Today I received several PM’s from people over at myspace asking if something was going on between Dagstine and me again. The reason was that Dagstine had contacted them about what it would take for him to join HWA, and included veiled references to an author and her minions who were trying to hurt him.

Odd.

But anyway, why didn’t Dagstine simply go over to the HWA website and read the requirements? That’s what I would have done in his shoes.

I suspect that Dagstine sent out these inquiries because I posted about SFWA. While the affiliate rule is looser with HWA than it is with SFWA, Dagstine still does not possess the creds to qualify for a voting membership. Oh, my bad, he has those super secret awesome creds. Well, he will have to trot them out to join as an active.

Makes me want to rejoin HWA also.

As for Philbin, I qualified my statement from the get go concerning the cover image. I went and had another look at it, and you can see that it was not edited. “It appears to be an underage girl”

Then I got an upset and worried phone from my daughter who had followed my link, accidentally posted as me before she realized she was logged in wrong. So I added and edit to her statement. I could have deleted it, but I have this thing about history.

The internet is an ephemeral thing and processes of thought are lost when too many things get deleted or edited for less than major typos. I prefer to publish retractions, rather than edits and deletes. It serves to show that a) I was wrong and b) that I recognized it.

Humanity is not a perfect machine.

I am not a perfect machine.

My page views went splodey. Because of wordpress running on Greenwich meantime, the day ends at 8 PM my time and the view count changes. Since that was an hour ago, I’ll have to say yesterday.

But previous to yesterday, my top page views were around 350. Yesterday they hit 1,240. Big difference.

I suspect it was because Philbin posted links on goodreads.

27 comments on “Dagstine wants to join HWA

  1. Kody Boye
    August 30, 2008

    Even if he did have the credits, doesn’t the HWA do background checks on people?…

    Because if they do, that’s a sure-fire chance of not getting into the HWA for sure.

  2. Nick Astly
    August 30, 2008

    Also, daggy the doggy is full of FAIL and AIDS. he is the CANCER killing self publishing and the horror genre (not that self publishing needed it). he needs to go back to forcing mudkipz to touch his ass.

  3. cussedness
    August 30, 2008

    He’s typhoid Mary incarnate.

  4. Sir Otter
    August 30, 2008

    I think Daggy has all the qualifications required to join the Halfwit Wanker Assholes. Or are you refering to a differnet HWA?

  5. Sabledrake
    August 30, 2008

    Everybody’s got minions but me! I want some minions, dang it! Where’s my minions???

  6. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    Lorenzo dropped by:

    Shroud
    Horrorworld (forum closed by admin)
    Black Ink Horror
    Phobia
    Silverthought (work removed and banned)

    Wonder how many more will follow suit.

    Not lawsuit, Larry. But you can try to follow that up if it makes you happy.

  7. Kody Boye
    August 30, 2008

    *Raises hand in support of Sable’s minion request*

  8. JodiLee
    August 30, 2008

    Sable, I’ll minion for you, too – if Louise’ll let me out long enough. 😉

    I missed something – he was dropped by BIH? Hmm.

  9. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    I always laugh at the amateurs who keep insisting that self-pub POD will take over.

    There will always be professional people and doors in the industry that will keep out the chaff. Always.

    In the past decade of POD self-publishing, there has been nothing to contradict that. If this great revolution was going to happen, it would have happened by now.

    The fact that just over 10 years have gone by without any change to the industry speaks volumes about how delusional and misguided these amateurs wannabes are.

  10. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    Suffolk County Long Island, Daggy.
    Come stalk me.
    I want you to.

    Come on. Come play with the big boys.

  11. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    Let’s hear it for middle-class Lorenzo, who works part time for a weekly advertiser paper and gets welfare.

    Yeah, you are sooooooo middle class.

    Shit, my dad made more than you working in a factory for 28 years. (£55,000 a year to be exact). And that’s a blue collar job.

  12. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    Wrong key, that’s $55,000.

    Amazing how talking figures to my web designer overseas get Brit symbols on the brain.

  13. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    Addition to number six above:

    The Ashen-Eye (shut down before it could publish his story. I know that’s not that same as being dropped, but it’s damned funny anyway.)

  14. cussedness
    August 30, 2008

    Apparently Dagstine could not win an argument with me or chase me into hiding so he sends Nicky over to play with me.

  15. Nick Astly
    August 30, 2008

    I thought Nicky was busy playing with mudkips

  16. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    Think it’s time to warn the HWA about him, if they don’t know already.

  17. Mike Brendan
    August 30, 2008

    I agree. Dagstine’s fiction has the appeal of a toxic waste spill. And is easily just as creative.

  18. Rusty
    August 30, 2008

    Not that I’m an expert, but it seems to me that there are several elements in a story that must work together: concept, plot, characterization, mood/setting/atmosphere, dialog (if appropriate). There may be more, but if all the writer can come up with is a concept, and the rest is ill-conceived, then the story’s going to suck beans. Lorenzo has come up with a few good concepts, but his executions either go nowhere, or are simply absurd.

  19. cussedness
    August 30, 2008

    The same could be said for Philbin, Rusty.

    It takes all the aspects forming a decent readable gestalt for a book to work. Or a short story for that matter.

  20. Mike Brendan
    August 30, 2008

    Given how he’s stated his disinterest and lack of passion for writing, I think it’s safe to say he’ll never get past the “4tehluv” markets. He’s too much a coward to reach for anything better.

  21. cussedness
    August 30, 2008

    He wants the ego boo without doing the work.

  22. johaha
    August 30, 2008

    “Lorenzo has come up with a few good concepts, but his executions either go nowhere, or are simply absurd.”

    That’s why I say ‘thanks for the ideas, Lorenzo’. They keep me from getting writer’s block. By taking your ideas and rewriting them, you are helping me become more well-known that I already am.

    Thanks again, Daggy! 🙂

  23. cuss kid
    August 31, 2008

    honestly, I used to get frustrated too eay or wishy washy but all the nitwittry, amongst other things, has made me want to push on. Well, I see no reason I can’t do better since I have a firm understanding that I need something I can enjoy writing AND I need to write it with the understanding that people I don’t know will be reading it.

  24. cuss kid
    August 31, 2008

    also, writing takes a lot of research. I hat to get a hold of lot of books nad talk to a lot of people with more knowledge than I have to even get close to starting.

  25. AlKilyu
    August 31, 2008

    Um…does the HWA still let people have access to other author’s personal info? After the whole Nicky fiasco did that ever get changed?

    You see where I am going with this obviously…

  26. cussedness
    August 31, 2008

    I was just informed by someone in the HWA that Dagstine had applied and he believed that Daggy had been approved for affiliate status.

    If that is the case, then it is going to be Pacione all over again, just a bit different because Daggy is smarter than Peaches.

  27. Mike Brendan
    September 1, 2008

    Well let’s hope that the HWA powers that be get word of Daggy’s antics and put the kibosh on that.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

