Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Jean Marie strikes again.


I won’t be getting my sales figures that one of the agents I spoke to wanted along with the manuscript. I lost my copies due to a hard drive crash. Jean sends them out in email.

Sovay had an ugly fight with Jean and Jean’s SO Frankie. And it was a replay of everything that happened during my marriage to her. It happened in IM and I have promised not to put them in my blog.

But the contents were like a replay of all the head games that Jean used to play on me. Frankie got on IM with Sovay, probably because Jean got upset.

7 comments on “Jean Marie strikes again.

  1. Kal-El
    September 13, 2008

    She just sent me July’s sales figures. I wrote back that was well and good, but since I sold no copies of Howling in the Park in July, I needed sales figures for October 2007 through June. I have a feeling she has no idea how many copies she owes me for.

  2. cussedness
    September 13, 2008

    I agree with you. Can you forward me a copy of those sales figures?

  3. SirOtter
    September 13, 2008

    Sure. Sorry about the temporary nom de plume, there. Forgot to change it back after my little joke. Very little.

  4. SirOtter
    September 13, 2008

    They’re on their way to you.

  5. cussedness
    September 13, 2008

    thanks, Otter!

  6. khazar
    September 13, 2008

    Here’s a phrase that might actually resonate with Jean:

    Tax Evasion

    Not keeping records of little details like how many copies have sold doesn’t get you a gold star from the IRS. It will, however, get their auditors interested. And they lurve digging in company files.

    SO you can do the following: Call your local IRS office. Tell them you seem to have a problem with a publisher being unable to tell you how many copies of your book have been sold because “they don’t keep records”. Might also call your local DA & ask, just out of curiousity, mind you, what they do about fraud. You want to stay calm, professional, polite.

    And when you have the answers & suggestions, you may–I say may because it really depends on how charitable you feel–mention to Jean that she should really, really get her records together.

    You can smile, too, knowing the IRS is champing the bit. And if they pay her a visit, which I rather suspect they will as they don’t like fraud, you can merely bat your eyes & smile.

  7. kitsunenongrata
    September 13, 2008

    http://kitsunenongrata.wordpress.com/2008/09/13/the-house-that-was-not-quiet/

    this is the start of my accounting my childhood. I”ll be going over many things that there is no way my mom could have put into my head.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 12, 2008 by in Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

