Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

A history of the cabal


I wrote this originally as an email to someone who inquired as to why all of the Dagstine/Philbin/Nicky stuff was on this blog.
_________________________________________________
Most of the writers involved in the cabal operate out of a small press called Silverthought. They had a different site back in 03 and 04 under a different owner/operator. When Dagstine first went after me, I was puzzled and confused and thought it was simply me. But the years I spent as a journalist left me with some bad habits called “investigate it.” And I started finding that Dagstine had more or less destroyed some newbie writers who had more talent and ability than he did. The head games he played on them would have done an old fashioned Fandom Feud justice.
Dagstine has made Ellen Datlow miserable on several occasions and that pissed me off.

I am not certain if you ever heard of Ron Horseley? (I think that was the guy’s name, but I’m not certain on the spelling of his lastname). But it all turned into a matter of these guys finding each other and then forming their little cabal.

Mike Philbin was a trouble maker who was banned from several boards many years ago and is still not welcomed a lot of places. He tries to make himself look important and yet the writing does not carry the concept because he’s too obsessed with sexual metaphor and poor characterization. His first published book was Boy Fist, Girl Suck. But he’s better known for a time travel story in which the time travelers rape baby dinosaurs. I’m not making that up.

Mike befriended Pacione and so did Horseley. There is no question that Pacione is mentally ill. The trouble is that until The Rusty Nail started documenting it there were a lot of young boys who were victimized, terrorized, and intimidated by Pacione. He ‘bought’ their stories for his anthologies. The youngest boy was 12 (he’s now 17), Kyle Kuchek. Most of them Pacione met online at places like horrorfind boards and gothic net. and a few other blogs. He had been chased off a lot of places that are now gone from the net. Quite a number of women were terrified of Pacione as well.
He had started with the Gothic community, wore out his welcome there in short order, and moved onto the horror community. It took a while for the community to catch on to the fact that he was simply crazy and not doing the shit simply for the hell of it. I suspect, from talking to a psych nurse, that Pacione is schizotypal with a narcissistic axis. He seems to honestly believe that what he is saying is true. I have known a large number of schizos over the years. I have one that sometimes posts to my blog, John aka trawlingfrogdog who I have known since the 1980s.

Mike’s main target when I first encountered him was Brian Keene. Then it shifted over to me. Ron left me alone. However, because of his verbally abusive support of Philbin and Pacione, Ron was eventually ostracized. The real shame was that Ron was the only one of the three with real talent. I have not heard from or seen any sign of Ron since his nervous breakdown in 05.

Mike went all over the various boards at the time that Ron had his breakdown starting threads with the subject line “Ron is no longer with us.” That was deliberately done to trigger a specific reaction, to make people think Ron was dead. I banned MIke from my messageboard along with his supporters because I did not want to deal with it and I thought (as I have so many times before) that would be the end of it. It was not. Philbin continued to periodically harass me.

Philbin found his way, after many years of self-publishing, to Silverthought where he met Dagstine three years ago. Philbin introduced Dagstine to Pacione. Now we come to the spots where I don’t have all of the pieces. In 06, Dagstine started a small zine called The Literary Bone and he managed to put together a decent looking group of writers and artists, including some lower level horror pros for issue #1. and then he announces that he has bought a story from Pacione and starts trying to play Svengali. I didn’t know at the time, but Dagstine had started compiling a collection of screenshots and other information on me. In May of 07, Dagstine posted an interview with Nicky Pacione on the myspace account for his zine. The interview was disgusting. Highlights included Pacione stating as fact that Mary Sangiovanni got her contract with Leisure books by sleeping with Don D’auria. I was included in the shit fest of an interview. Then Dagstine tries to play the crowd, asking for proofs that what Nicky has said is not true. And I responded about Pacione harrassing my daughter. Dagstine zeroed in on me and ignored the rest of the people posting comments and dropped his net and the first of his threats. Judging from things he said later on Peter Barnes’ xanga blog, Dagstine had spent at least two years studying me.

I realized then that Dagstine was running a game on the horror community. He tried to twist it all around an pretend he was the messiah who would save everyone from Pacione, but he had set up and correographed a year of abuse directed at various people by Pacione. When I revealed that it was a game, I was getting deluged with emails, most of them with links to other places and I started to put together a time line of what was going on. It’s in my xanga, so I’m not going to exhaust myself going into further detail on it. But after that the abuse never stopped.

However, one peculiar thing that Exposethetard posted is worth noting. When the shit hit the fan and Dagstine started catching hell from all directions, someone named Valentinevegen began sending emails to Pacione implying that there was a huge conspiracy out to get him. The conspirators included myself and Brian Keene. Every time that Dagstine would start to get cornered again for his lies and other misbehaviors, Pacione would get one of those emails and it would set him off. That was a distraction for the people who were focused on Dagstine. Eventually it was discovered through IP matching that Dagstine was Valentinevegen and he twice admitted to it.

And it shows no sign of slowing down. Whenever I relax and start to post about what I’m doing or whatever other trivial good news I come up with to post, the attacks are renewed. It’s ugly.

36 comments on “A history of the cabal

  1. Johaha
    September 17, 2008

    These guys are filth.
    Datlow knows it.
    The professional community know it.

    As far as Dagstine/Lorenzo goes, I have nothing to prove to him. I do not care what he thinks of me.

    Why? Because I have done what he has not been able to do–break into the industry and become a professional.

    The fact of the matter is that through hard work and craftsmanship I did.

    I made it.

    I made it into what he’s called the ‘dreaded inner circle of the industry’.

    I showed them my work and they opened the doors and welcomed me in.

    I am proud of the industry and proudly boast of many good professional friends who have showed me the way.

    I did it.

    Daggy has nothing to show but a negative reputation and crap credits from zines that don’t matter.

  2. khazar
    September 17, 2008

    Nickiepoo has a seriously unsavory reputation. The nabobs at Absolute Write banned him. His press, Lake Fossil, is apparently in crash & burn mode.

  3. Johaha
    September 17, 2008

    Addition:

    The strategy of the Nitwits works in that it attracts the wrong kind of attention—the negative kind. Oh, my industry contacts know about you guys, Lorenzo, and they are not impressed.

    So you can dismiss the industry all you want for its refusal to accept your work and let you in, Larry. YOu can cry about how unfair they might be to reject your work.

    But the fact remains—the industry has and always will exist.

    And the industry will always serve the honorable purpose of keeping the dregs, the wannabes, the nitwits outside in the cold where they belong.

  4. Mike Brendan
    September 17, 2008

    Where Dagstine belongs is in an 8′ x 10′ cell with no windows and only a bucket to shit in. I’ve had his status as a human being revoked so I wouldn’t have to be disgusted with being the same species as he.

  5. Johaha
    September 17, 2008

    LOL.

    Good one, Mike.

  6. cussedness
    September 17, 2008

    I think an oubliette would be perfect.

  7. khazar
    September 17, 2008

    I also kind of wonder just what kind of “interest” he took in the young boys.

  8. Phil Smith
    September 18, 2008

    Oh, Nicky was after half a dozen catamites. That much is obvious.

    Oh, and this just in. Following Dagstine’s removal from the human race, an emergency general meeting of the animal kingdom was convened. He’s been voted out. It’s been said the sponges were particularly vocal about sharing characteristics with him.

    I’m told the vegetable, fungal and bacterial kingdoms are closing ranks now too…

  9. raingods
    September 18, 2008

    can we all put them into one sleepsack and throw ’em in a river? Or would we get fined for polluting the stream?

  10. Ellen Datlow
    September 18, 2008

    Hi,
    I’m embarrassed to say I have no idea who Dagstine is–when/how/where did he give me a hard time?

  11. cussedness
    September 18, 2008

    At the event where you give the author talks each month. He snapped a picture of the two you together. You were miserable looking. Several people who were present at the event remarked upon your reaction to it.

    You seem not to notice the way that he addresses you when you make a rare appearance on Shocklines, so I might be wrong in assuming that you are aware of him.

    He also brags about you liking him. But nothing I have seen bears that out.

  12. Rusty
    September 18, 2008
  13. AlKilyu
    September 18, 2008

    Wow why does Dagstine allow his face to be photographed?

  14. Mike Philbin
    September 18, 2008

    I am not BANNED from loads of forums and I am welcome wherever I choose to post (or I’d be banned, which I’m not).

    I chose to not re-register with T.O.D.P. because they’re as inflammatory and gook-izing as you are, Janrae. I’ve never been banned from your forum, whatever that is. I was finally banned from Bizarro Central because I continued to say things they didn’t want to hear about the corporatisation of what-should-have-been creative (bizarro) literature. “It’s right to fight for what you want, for all that you believe.” I believe was my parting shot.

    I didn’t start ANYTHING with Brian Keene, he said on Shocklines that he’d like to shit down my neck when I asked him to professionally go off and deal with John B Ford about his contribution to some ‘group story’ being published without his permission.

    Is it all coming back to folks yet?

    I don’t KNOW Dagstine, I don’t KNOW Pacione, I don’t KNOW Horsely, we’re certainly not in any luncheoning CABAL. We’re just individuals on the internet who your group doesn’t like (for some arbitrary reason). I’m a writer from UK who gets really pissed off when trolls like you CONTINUE to use his name in your posts for self-publicity.

    You guys nearly KILLED Ron Horsely. And you can’t see it. You think all your name-calling is clever. You make stuff up and fools swallow it, such that Ellen Datlow herself has to come onto your blog and tell you she doesn’t know what you’re talking about.

    My first published book wasn’t BFGS, it was Red Hedz (Creation Press 1989). EGG isn’t a story about a time-traveller, it’s a ‘story’ about man and dinosaurs living together – if you know anything about paleontology, you know that dinosaurs and humans never met. It’s just a fucking story!

    Anyway, lie all you want, your toadies love it.

  15. Mike Philbin
    September 18, 2008

    I’ve screenshot this, so don’t delete it.

    🙂

  16. khazar
    September 18, 2008

    ” I stocked up on reading material for me and my son; Jack Ketchum and P.D. Cacek were nice enough to autograph it to him for when he’s old enough to read horror. ”

    How old is he now? 35? Still can’t read? Apple don’t fall far from the ol’ tree.

    ” I also noticed something else. These people were not only pleasant, but they were down-to-earth. And I realize now that’s what writing is about. It’s not always about how much money you make, who is better than this one, I’m going to be famous overnight. It’s about being nice and appreciating the artform. ”

    Oh boy. A Hallmark moment!

    “Being a writer is about being down to earth. It’s about being human. It’s about being yourself.”

    Well, Dingleberry, you don’t meet 2 of the 3 criteria. Guess you’re not a writer. Not that you ever really were, you understand; it’s just proof.

  17. cussedness
    September 18, 2008

    Hello, Mikey.

    Back in 04 I banned you from my forum. You were banned from Brian Keene’s forum. Shall I continue? You threw a fit about the banning on Shocklines and it caused quite a stir. My mods, who were less familiar with you at the time, were disturbed by the banning, but I left it intact. Now, I have no intention of deleting it. Why should I?

    Are nasty tricks from you so commonplace that you no longer remember what you did? How about the time Dagstine went after me for my early drug abuse and you put up a picture of a cocaine warning? How about the Nazi images you were always throwing at me because my father is German?

    Now, please excuse me, Mikey, but I need a cup of coffee before I rip you to pieces.

  18. Mike Brendan
    September 18, 2008

    Sorry, Mikkake but since you’ve proven yourself to be a pillock and full of shit in the past, I can’t trust a single word you say.

  19. CritGit
    September 18, 2008

    I’m welcome to choose wherever I post!

    Oh, except where I was banned.

    Also, love the idea of who’s using who for publicity. That’s why the Cuss has a wiki page and someone else lost theirs.

  20. Nick Astly
    September 18, 2008

    Mike you should just got back to your salty showers

  21. cussedness
    September 18, 2008

    Mikakke, do you remember when you were sneaking onto boards that disliked you using the handle Cabbage Patch Doll?

    Do you realize that Des Lewis mostly ignores you now, but he was one of the people who were championing you back in 04?

    Do you remember what you did to Jane Letty for refusing to agent your books after you wrote Boy Fist, Girl Suck?

    Do you remember making that first “Who the Fuck is Janrae Frank” post back in 04?

    Shall I continue?

  22. Devil's Child
    September 18, 2008

    I like how Mikey says he doesn’t know Ron, but then says that you almost killed him.

    Contradict much?

  23. cussedness
    September 18, 2008

    Ron was once a member of HWA. He lost it over a post made by Karen E. Taylor and chased her to her blog where he made terrible comments about her and the fiction she wrote.

    Karen was never anything but kind to people and did not deserve that.

    You and Pacione were regulars on Ron’s board and supported his every dispicable moves. You once attempted to collaborate on a novel with Pacione. Or was it a short story.

    Ellen has probably had so many slime balls give her problems over the years that she simply no longer remembers the names of the people who treat her badly. It’s part of the problem that modern internet usage and other things have caused for editors.

    Especially editors with such a high standing in the community.

    It is a high standing that you cannot and never will equal, Pleabitten.

  24. Johaha
    September 18, 2008

    Who the fuck is Philbin.
    And why should anyone care?

  25. Lawrence Dagstine
    September 19, 2008

    Who is Ron Horsely? What is this cabal? And what is this drivel and nonsense above. Well, anyway, besides the point…

    Janrae, you are clearly running a smear campaign with the usual eight suspects (failed writers, editors, and agents) to boast your own name and your new company Daverana, and by doing this you are taking a dump on other good, better authors than yourself. You are delusional, and you are merely looking for virtual face time with Ms. Datlow, and, hopefully, in a positive manner.

    My Story:

    I went to a Jack Ketchum reading because I am a long time fan of Mr. Ketchum’s work, and I got his autograph. Then, after that, I had the honor of shaking Ms. Datlow’s hand and thanking her for simply being an inspiration. We took a photo together, thank yous were exchanged, and then do you know what we did? Everybody went home… Like normal people off of computers, everybody went their separate ways. That’s it. Well, actually, I stopped at 8th Street and had a Falafel first, then I went home.

    So leave Ms. Datlow alone, and stop concocting these absurd stories. Oh, and be sure to take your tricyclics or your MAOIs (whatever the doctor prescribed you), before you go to bed tonight.

    Love Lawrence

  26. Lawrence Dagstine
    September 19, 2008

    Ahh, so that’s who Ron Horsely was. I’ve screenshotted everything too, Mike.

    http://www.garybraunbeck.com/html/2005_08_07_archive.html

  27. CritGit
    September 19, 2008

    Oh yes, Mike! Look, I’m such a good boy!

    Wanker.
    Don’t act like this is about someone else. This is about you, not anyone other than you. Don’t act like you’re defending other people.

    You’re a lying creep who yet again sneers at the disadvantages of others.

  28. Mike Brendan
    September 19, 2008

    Philbin’s second rate. Larry’s more like… oh, I don’t know… fifth.

  29. cussedness
    September 19, 2008

    And he just tried to escape my point. Larry, why should I try to suck up to Datlow?

    I don’t write short fiction often enough to sub to her anthos.

    I don’t write the kind of short fiction that she buys.

    She cannot affect me in a positive way because I’m a novelist, not a short story author.

    I write maybe one short a year, if that.

    I have not done anything to her. You’re delusional as always, Daggy.

  30. Mike Brendan
    September 19, 2008

    Of course he dodges the point. That’s his modus operandi.

    I have to wonder what the hell he’s talking about, but getting him to give a straight answer is like herding cats.

  31. CritGit
    September 19, 2008

    Funny, with all this time spent on someone else’s blog, you’d think he’d find where the Cuss left those ‘death wishes’ he lied about, I mean he spoke of.

  32. Mike Brendan
    September 19, 2008

    Well, you know how Dagstine and research never get along…

  33. cussedness
    September 19, 2008

    Daggy could not do research if it stared him in the eye. If an ant crawled up his arm, his research would be comprised of “Yikes! It’s a scorpion.”

  34. Johaha
    September 19, 2008

    Yeah, and if I am a failed writer–sorry, daggy I am an author, not a writer–then why do I have professional credits and you don’t? Why do I go to parties with big editors and authors?

  35. Louise
    September 19, 2008

    Amen, Johaha. I may be small potatoes yet, but I have far more professional credibility than you, dear Lorenzo. And I actually get paid for my work. I don’t have to beg for the luv markets to take it off my hands, like you do.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

