Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Philbin asks Matt to Ban me


see it here

Or snag the screenshot from here in case Matt snips it.

edited to add: Matt took out the snippers. And the comments are gone. However, I will reiterate what I said.

I have known Mike Philbin since 2004, first encountering him on Shocklines and later places like Messageboard of the Damned, and Brian Keene’s old messageboard. At the Keene board, Philbin came on as cabbagepatchdoll and made trouble. That is what led me to Ron Horsely’s old messageboard where most of the talk was limited to bashing Keene and others. While Philbin disingenuously says that he only discovered me after I posted the “Who the Fuck is Mike Philbin?” post here, it was in reply to one he had already posted about me called “Who the Fuck was Janrae Frank” as if I had never existed. Love the “was” and so forth.

Mike Philbin and Des Lewis came to my board and Mike wanted Des to give me a hard time because Des had better creds (in Philbin’s dreams) than I did. The fact that I had only recently begun writing fiction again may have made me forgettable to some, but not to all.

Mike seems to have forgotten his “Who the fuck is Janrae Frank?” which earned him a comment from Keene and the post vanished.

10 comments on “Philbin asks Matt to Ban me

  1. Mike Brendan
    September 18, 2008

    I could see that as being construed as a ban request. Boy, Mikakke is whiny little bitch isn’t he?

  2. cussedness
    September 18, 2008

    When I looked at it again, I was less certain of seeing it as a ban request, but it was typical ‘helpless’ Mikikakke.

    “Oh save me! Save me from that terrible troll”

    Maybe it’s time to send out a call for the Squirrels of Doom?

  3. Mike Brendan
    September 18, 2008

    Not yet. Let him live in the dread fear of the wrath of their nuts.

  4. CritGit
    September 18, 2008

    Basically it was a whiney rant. He does those a lot, it seems.

  5. cussedness
    September 18, 2008

    He’s afraid of the truth: he’s a talentless whiney hack

  6. Lawrence Dagstine
    September 19, 2008

    Des Lewis will always have better credits than most (he is the king)… And yes, that does include you.

  7. khazar
    September 19, 2008

    Anyone who’d willingly list “bukkake world” as a credit has some serious issues with reality.

  8. cussedness
    September 19, 2008

    Bull crap, Larry. His creds are almost entirely small press.

  9. Mike Brendan
    September 19, 2008

    No, Larry, Dan Simmons is the King.

  10. cussedness
    September 19, 2008

    No one who writes exclusively or almost exclusively for the small press can be considered a king.

    The Kings and Queens of the Genre are the people who publish through the majors and make it onto the best seller lists.

    Dan Simmons is definitely the king. I have most of his books and all of them are excellent.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

