Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Grievence Committee


I’m hunting around for everything that the Committee needs to make Jean take down all of my books at various places. I need to spent a day digging through my filing cabinets for the contracts I signed. That and various emails I sent to her and her replies are also part of it. This might get sticky, but I’m working on it. I want to have everything tidied up when I send this next book to the agent who is interested. He informed me that the best thing I could do was to get all of my rights back so that some of them could become part of a package offering if he likes the new book.

At this point, it looks like the one I am going to send is Loyalty. It’s standing at just over 53k this morning. I ripped out a couple of scenes I thought no longer worked in light of the direction some earlier, newer scenes took. Once I start fleshing out a rough, it just grows and grows.

50ftAnt is an incredible writer and extremely knowledgeable. If Mother Damnation gets finished ahead of Loyalty (these things do happen), then it will go to the agent instead.

However, I am beginning to find myself drawn back toward working a bit more on Sins of Innocence. I love the pack of nasty sa’necari mercenaries I created for that one.

I have gone through a lot of agents over the years, including non-fiction agents. I need to empty all the trash containers and place one next to the filing cabinets (or maybe a dozen. 🙂 ) It’s incredible how much shite I have stuffed into the cabinets that does not belong there or should have been tossed a long time ago. Such as ten year old and long ago paid off bills.

3 comments on “Grievence Committee

  1. khazar
    September 24, 2008

    You asking them to do it + a note from Jean saying the contract is kaput isn’t enough?

  2. 50footant
    September 24, 2008

    Thanks for the shout. 🙂 I should be asleep, but the images are too strong, so onto paper they shall go.

    Once an ant bites, we don’t let go till we win.

  3. cussedness
    September 24, 2008

    Khazar: No, they have asked for all kinds of things. However, the person I am supposed to send it all to is away this week.

    I have asked a few questions, but don’t expect to have an answer until early next week.

    Ant: I had one of those DUH moments, when I kept searching for a good map of the US and never, until this morning, thought of google images. I found a really huge one that I copied and will now set to work on with gimp.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2008 by in Janrae Frank, writing, dark fantasy, horror, science fiction and tagged , , , , , .

Janrae Frank

