Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

another one of those damned days, but different


I had a hard time sleeping last night. Probably too much caffiene. So I got up and got my changes back to Ant first thing and started formatting on a book that was supposed to be uploaded by noon. Then word went apeshit and lost all my formatting. So I decided to take a nap.

I had barely dozed off when there was a knock at my door and that was followed by the fire alarms going off. No, it was not a fire. It was a surprise inspection of our fire alarms by the fire department.

3:44:36 PM) cuss: You know how the fire department inspects an apartment building?
(3:45:15 PM) Steven Beeho: yes
(3:45:23 PM) cuss: they walk through with this little gun like object. Hold it up to each fire alarm in the building. The thing emits a bit of smoke and sets off the alarms
(3:45:39 PM) cuss: one after another for over an hour

Edited to add: And I knocked my paper stand off my desk and broke it just as I was going to use Steven’s notes to work on Loyalty again.

Definitely one of those days. Autumn always seems to be when things around here most often go haywire.

2 comments on “another one of those damned days, but different

  1. khazar
    September 27, 2008

    True story: My folks had a rental house. One day we got a call from the Fire Dept. It seems the fire alarm failed the test. So we all drove out to Mentone (I bet Cuss knows where that is!) to fix the faulty alarm. BTW, the fine for a nonfunctional alarm was over $100.

    We get to the house, and Dan (he’s 6’5.5″) reaches up and gets the alarm. There’s no battery!

    The woman renting the place says, “Oh yeah. The battery on the radio died so we took it out of there. We never used that thing anyway.” 😯

  2. cussedness
    September 27, 2008

    yes, I know where Mentone is.

    😄 that sounds typical of this area.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 26, 2008 by in Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

