Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Daggy pleads deafness


See it here

Now, my grandfather was 85% deaf by the time I was 20.  We got him headphones, but even then it still shook the house with how loud it needed to be.

Special headphones are not needed if you have proper hearing aids these days.  Yet there is no mention of hearing aids, just his very expensive headphones.

I remain highly skeptical of Daggy’s claims.  I’m 40% deaf in my right ear, but just fine in my left ear.  That’s called unilateral deafness.  And while that is nothing compared to 85%, it is still enough to make for a few problems.  It cuts off the high end for me and makes male voices easy to understand and women’s more difficult.  Yes, I have sexist hearing.

6 comments on “Daggy pleads deafness

  1. CritGit
    October 8, 2008

    That’s it, you admitted being sexist! We have the proof!

  2. cussedness
    October 8, 2008

    Just got back from the doctor’s office. For the time being they are more concerned about removing the mole on my forehead that went rancid and getting my legs to stop singing Yankee Doodle Dandy. I have now been set up for physical therapy and removal of the mole. Then back to the doctor on Halloween day for a recheck and moving on to the rest of the problems. Sovay keeps nagging so off to the doctor I go to deal with it all.

  3. Johaha
    October 8, 2008

    What? I’m sorry Daggy, I can’t hear you. Did you say go left? You’re bereft? You’ve got a cleft?

    I must be going deaf…

  4. AlKilyu
    October 9, 2008

    I “went there” yesterday myself regarding a certain Nitwit’s condition(S)

    http://theotherdarkplace.com/mboard/index.php?topic=15610.msg207474#msg207474

  5. Jane Timm Baxter
    October 9, 2008

    My Daddy was completely deaf in one ear, due to having scarlet fever as a child. So, of course, he picked the chair in the living room that would put his deaf ear facing my mother’s chair. Yes, I inherited my Daddy’s “devilish” side.
    He was also a master of “selective hearing;” swearing he couldn’t understand a word when you were yelling right at him, but could magically pick up a whispered “Bastard!” from two rooms away.

    I refuse to read Daggy. All it does is piss me off, and that’s a bunch of energy that I don’t have to waste. The same goes for Philbin and, of course, HWSNBN. Nitwittery is bad for my health.

  6. cussedness
    October 9, 2008

    Nitwittery is bad for most people’s health — unless they’re nitwits. They are rather similar to Typhoid Mary.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2008 by in Janrae Frank and tagged , , .

Janrae Frank

