Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

I guess this makes me a terrorist


I keep reading the stuff on the net about how Obama supports terrorism because he attended a function thrown by William Ayers.  And then I read how McCain is bad because of Charles Keating.  Guilt by association has become the norm.

Well, I must confess that when I was 13 and 14, I thought Bernardine Dohrn and the Weather Underground were hot stuff.  I was also impressed with the Red Army Faction operating in Europe.  It kind of tweaked the violence  is romantic because it is dangerous side of my adolescence misconceptions.  I even named one of my barbie dolls Bernardine Dohrn.   I had enough Barbie dolls to stage battles (I wanted a G.I Joe, but my mother refused to let me have one), and my preference for playing warfare with my dolls instead of dating appalled all the neighbor girls who refused to play with me.

5 comments on “I guess this makes me a terrorist

  1. Sabledrake
    October 9, 2008

    I enjoyed Robert McCammon’s MINE … does that mean I’m one, too?

    I hear ya on the Barbies. Mine were always getting kidnapped by this creepy Lone Ranger doll.

  2. rich
    October 9, 2008

    Having spent time in the UK, I always thought it was funny that a UK group during the time period, like the Weatherman Underground, called themselves “The Angry Brigade.”

    The name is so typically British….

    But oh, wait a minute, I have an American and a German birth certificate, which means, according to some, I’m not even American!

  3. cussedness
    October 9, 2008

    I’m astonished at some of the stupid I see these days, especially concerning citizenship. My first stepfather was career navy. If one of their kids had been born outside the US, would that have made that child any less of a natural born citizen than the rest of them?

    Can you really see something like this happening?

    Mother: Mary Jones, American Citizen
    Father: Jeffrey Jones, American Citizen

    Child one: Jessica, born in Maryland, US natural born citizen
    Child two: Alex, born in Cleveland Ohio, US natural born Citizen
    Child three: David, born in Stutgart, Germany, NOT a US Citizen
    Child four: Lisa, born in Los Angeles, US natural born Citizen
    Child five….. and so on.

    If that were the case, guys would be sending their wives home to mama as soon as they got pregnant so that their children would all have the same citizenship.

    Can you see a new mother being stopped at the borders and told she cannot bring the infant she recently gave birth to into this country, because even though she’s a natural born citizen the child isn’t?

    The lack of logic is extreme at times.

  4. crotchetyoldfan
    October 9, 2008

    Hah on the Barbies.

    My friends and I had about 30 GI Joes, Action Men and others all told.

    We used to steal “Alan’s sister Norma’s” barbies for our camp followers…

    Norma was not too happy with that…

  5. cussedness
    October 9, 2008

    Now, I’m jealous! I wanted one of those GI Joes so bad. The big ones with the bendable legs and arms. I also had about 30 big plastic horses that I could sit the barbies on so that they could be cavalry.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 9, 2008 by in Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

