Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

A Change of Heart


I received a lot of very good comments my previous post about Whispering Spirits.

I find myself agreeing with those who said that I was imposing too many limits upon myself, and expecting others to follow suit.  Writing should not be about limits.  By fencing myself in with my refusal to sell shorts to paying markets that Dagstine has sold to and continues to sell to, I have created my own little ghetto.

It might be a better ghetto than Dagstine’s (after all, I am primarily a novelist), but it remains a ghetto.

Just as I took my reprints to Associated Content, despite (or because of)  Nicky’s presence there, I intend to feel free to sub my material to those paying markets that Dagstine sells to.  I might even sub to the same anthology markets that Philbin does, but only if they are paying markets.

I say, “Let’s not fence ourselves in.  Let’s show those markets how it is done.”

And even more to the point, let’s not condemn the publishers and editors for buying Dagstine’s stories.  They are not the target.  Instead, let’s sub stories to those paying markets and strut our stuff.

11 comments on “A Change of Heart

  1. Mike Brendan
    October 10, 2008

    Let the prose fall where it may. Besides that’ll drive the Nitwits all the more nuts.

  2. RHFay
    October 10, 2008

    I’m glad to hear that you’ve decided not to wall yourself into your own little ghetto. Definitely show them how it’s done!

    Cheers!

  3. Johaha
    October 10, 2008

    Amen. Let’s go for it.

    And I’m still taking Daggy stories and reworking them to be my own.

    My little “Screw you, hack” to the nitwit.

  4. Johaha
    October 10, 2008

    If we publish our stuff where Daggy publishes then two things will happen:

    1) Our stuff will outshine his and make him look like the amateur his is;

    2) The editors of those mags–and the readers–will see how it’s done.

    It may be a long shot, but maybe then these editors will stop buying his stuff.

  5. cussedness
    October 10, 2008

    I agree with all of you. Thanks for the input.

  6. Sabledrake
    October 10, 2008

    Late to the party, but yeah, what they said!

  7. khazar
    October 11, 2008

    It’s called survival of the fittest.

    Daggy is unfit for human consumption.

    Let’s show everyone why & how.

  8. Johaha
    October 11, 2008

    HOT TIP:

    Check this out and have a laugh.

    http://www.mymotherwasatrekkie.blogspot.com/

    Daggy interviewed by some random guy.
    Get a load of this.
    He calls himself the Joey Ramone of genre.

    Excuse me, I gotta go crap now after that.

  9. Sovay
    October 12, 2008

    also don’t go looking to publish where he does. 90% of hte time he picks bad spots

  10. Kody Boye
    October 12, 2008

    And besides, what if, by some chance, I happen to get rejected from said market he got accepted to?

    That would be too big of a burn to handle. -_-

  11. cussedness
    October 12, 2008

    The main idea is to try to get into the PAYING places, not the 4theluvs.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

