Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Dagstine Interview: Do I smell a rat?


Mymotherwasatrekkie had an interview with Dagstine up.  I had decided to ignore it for the present because I am trying to get a couple of novels finished as well as work on some books I want to get launched next week.

However, a couple of interesting things about this blog were just pointed out to me.

1) there are only two posts on it.  It is a brand new blog.

2) the person who has the blog claims to be returning to it after a long absence during which he deleted the blog.

Another thing that caught our eyes, is that author thanks people for their support, and then disables comments on both posts.  If the support really existed, wouldn’t you expect him to allow people to show their support?

Another suspicious thing is that it is supposedly a blog about video games, so why are they running an interview with an author?

14 comments on “Dagstine Interview: Do I smell a rat?

  1. Johaha
    October 11, 2008

    I heard a rumor Daggy was dropped from Polluto.

    Hum…

  2. CritGit
    October 11, 2008

    “Even if we assume that such storytelling is not worthwhile or doesn’t count for something, there are other things to consider.”
    good story telling is always worth while

    “who are we to deny the rebirth and revitalization of fandom,”
    When did it go? Fandom is stronger than ever and has been some time.

    “But when I see an author like you get markets every other day…”
    Um, that would be an exaggeration methinks.

    “You have many devoted fans in the underground, and they compliment you. But I’ve also noticed you have many naysayers, too. How long have they been there, and how does their snarkiness affect your work?”
    Fans? Where? Also, notice the word snarkiness. Either this person is in the tank for Dagstine, or is him.

    I call bullshit.

  3. Johaha
    October 11, 2008

    The questions read like Daggy. The answers read like Daggy.

    I say the whole thing is Daggy. The website is a fake, the interviewer is a fake.

    I agree.

    I call bullshit.

  4. Mike Brendan
    October 11, 2008

    That photo of Dagstine (where he looks constipated) was a mirror shot… I’m calling shenanigans as well.

  5. raingods
    October 11, 2008

    Well Johnny Guerrero is a real person, and did work for game pro magazine a number of years ago. Whether this is actually the same person, or merely another dagstine lie, is hard to say. From what I remember of guerrero’s writing, it is nothing at all like this. Besides, a professional writer, even on a personal blog, would make an attempt to be a journalist first.

    This would be like me interviewing Cuss on my blog, and instead of asking questions about the writing process, I ask her about the nitwits and what poopie heads they are.

    anyway, I need to get off the net and finish my poem.

  6. rich
    October 12, 2008

    Refreshed shocklines about 30 seconds ago. His thread has 83 clicks and no comments. Makes me wonder….

    How many of those clicks are him clicking on his own thread to get a high number? I wouldn’t put it past him.

  7. Rusty
    October 12, 2008

    There probably is no such thing as a flattering picture of Dagstine, but that has got to be the most unflattering one I’ve ever seen. The interview itself is nothing but softball questions, and I agree that no serious interview would bring up the topic of naysayers, handing the interviewee a forum to air grievances.

    I haven’t seen the Shocklines thread, but at the rate it’s going, Daggy will either bump it, or try to get one of the other Nitwits to do so. Never one to return favors, Philbin probably won’t do it. If Nicky won’t, then Daggy will do it himself.

  8. rich
    October 12, 2008

    He bumped it once already by “editing” it.

  9. Rusty
    October 12, 2008

    LOL! The longer the time between the initial post and the “edit,” the worse, and more desperate it looks. Editing it a few minutes after posting to add a point, or fix a typo is alright; editing it hours later is just pathetic.

  10. Mike Brendan
    October 12, 2008

    Pathetic is a word that suits Dagstine to a “T”.

  11. khazar
    October 12, 2008

    I: Hello, My Name is Darry Langstine. I’m here to conduct an interview with a man who is my mirror image, Larry Dagstine.

    ME: Thank me–I mean, You. Yes, I am a writer of fictional novels and stories of tale-telling. I’m popular among the people who can’t afford an actual book of their very own.

    I: That’s amazing. I had no idea so many people were on the underground. I understand it makes stops in Chicago?

    ME: Yes, I have a contact there in the goth scene. Pacione? You may have heard of him from me?

    I: I have, and he is not a brilliantly derivative as you. Now that fandom is underperforming, we need more men of your disctinction to fill in the gap left behind. And I’m just the man to do that.

    ME: I’m right, I’m the man for the job as I’ve had 400 stories posted just since yesterday. One day I pla to go big time with a real publisher.

    I: Who have we chosen to print our magnum opus?

    ME: Well, I’ve spoken with Pacione, and I’ve decided to go the route as some of the Goth of Chicage. Unlike some writers from England, we’re not going cheapo with Lulu. No, we’re going big!

    I: You mean…

    ME: That’s right. Publish America! They even pay an advance.

    I: Paid & Published? Wow!

    ME: That’s correct. I can’t wait to post another 450 messages telling the world about our coup.

    I: This’ll teach those bitches that we–I mean I–am a serious writer!

    ME: Yes! Let me make another 567 posts, and we’ll rule the Publishing World!

    I: To us!

    ME: To me!

    Fame and fortune, here we come!

  12. Johaha
    October 12, 2008

    LOL

  13. CritGit
    October 12, 2008

    Don’t forget, the closing line must be: ‘and you, sir, are a formidable opponent’. 😀

  14. Sovay
    October 14, 2008

    I”d try and get in contact with the actual person.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2008 by in Janrae Frank, lawrence dagstine, legion of nitwits and tagged , , .

Janrae Frank

