Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

A description of my life.


I have a living room and a bedroom, a tiny kitchenette and a bathroom.

What I don’t own:

Living room furniture.

Television.

Video games.

Stove

what I do own

Three desks

Four four drawer filing cabinets

Two huge long folding tables like you see offices use for temporary displays.

A computer.

Seven bookcases.

Microwave

Toaster oven

Bed

Apartment sized washing machine.

Three chairs

After eight years in the place, I have finally managed to stop the landlord from trying to give me living room furniture and a tv.  I refuse to move my books and bookcases and such into storage just to conform to his idea of what a normal apartment looks like.

5 comments on “A description of my life.

  1. Mike Brendan
    October 22, 2008

    Normal is over-rated anyway.

  2. thevern
    October 22, 2008

    Define normal? My office is full of skulls, candles, odd pictures and statues. I call that normal, others seem to think otherwise. Your world, your life, your home = your business. Screw those who take issue!

    Vern.

  3. khazar
    October 22, 2008

    In this house we have:

    3 computers

    1.5 rooms full of books

    A mountain of fabric

    Furniture family gave us because we “needed it” (translation–it’s too trashed for their house, but we need it, right?

    4 sewing machines & 1 serger

    4 teaching skeletons

    1 piano

    3 Poodles

    Us.

    Sounds normal to me.

  4. Mike Brendan
    October 22, 2008

    Inventory includes:

    2 Mac Minis
    2 PCs
    1 laptop
    3 antiquated shut-down computers.
    1 TV
    1 XBox
    1 XBox 360
    1 PS2
    10 swords
    1 Full set of armor, SCA legal save for the kettle helm
    3 Smelting pots
    100+ figurine molds
    4 bookcases with various games
    3 bookcases with various books
    2 NERF guns
    1 cat

    All is well.

  5. Jane Timm Baxter
    October 22, 2008

    I can’t list my crap, but let’s just say that Jim and I have a lot of “stuff.”

    Strange “stuff.”

    “Stuff” that makes people hum the lyric from The Addams Family: “Their house is a museum, when people come to see ’em” as they walk around our place.

    Somewhere, amid the books and fairies and paintings and “knick-knacks,” are a very old, muttering cat and a spoiled rotten Chihuahua.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 22, 2008 by in Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

