Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

World of Warcraft: part 1


There is no real sense of community that I have found so far on world of warcraft.  So far I have only found a single person that I liked playing with.

Most of the time, no one stops to think.  I was kicked out of a group I was in briefly because they decided that I was not committed enough, maybe even a pansy or something.  The leader was a lvl 42, I am sitting at 27, and there was an 18 lvl paladin and a 17 lvl something or other.  They went into a very confusing dungeon, doing the usual heedless rush and getting killed.  The farther down into the dungeon you get, the more difficult and annoying it is to get your body back.  I suggested that the lvl 18 and lvl 17 ought to try something easier and got shafted as a result.

I’m a bad person for addressing the obvious.

The lvl 18 was with a different lvl 23 priest, and they could not figure out how to get the mine quest, and they almost decided not to go after the Defias Messenger.  Without getting the messenger and the traitor quests, you come to a deadend on the main storyline.  I showed them where to do both of those.

Another couple of folks I ran with briefly were gripping about the zombie plague, yet they kept rushing headlong into the towns without first checking them out along the edges.  And I was a bad person for suggesting that they slow down.

Another point that no one wished to listen to was that no one was getting any points on the mine.  Why?

Well according to the rule book, if the leader is too many lvls above the rest, they only get points when she/he scores a monster on their own lvl.  There is a five level rule.

Which makes me wonder if anyone but me bothers to read the bloody rules.

15 comments on “World of Warcraft: part 1

  1. CritGit
    October 26, 2008

    There you go thinking. Ain’t nuthin’ got done in this world by no thinking, I say, nuthin’.

  2. Mike Brendan
    October 26, 2008

    That happens quite a bit to me in WoW as well. That’s why I don’t play as much as I used to…

  3. raingods
    October 26, 2008

    I’ve been playing since May, and can count on one hand the times I’ve played with others. I’ll admit, my experience is different than yours, as I was in my guild since level 10, and you get treated differently when people see you’re in a guild. There also seems to be a difference in how Alliance and Horde players, well, play.

    Remember, WoW is 4 years old, and I’d say that those you had a problem with were playing alts, and had far more experience in the game, and may have assumed you did too. No excuse for their behaviour, though. The only bad experience I had playing with someone, was due to their constantly being killed by rushing into areas he had no business running into.

    Lots of old players are coming back in prepration for the Lich King expansion. With that comes some old, ugly behavior, as well. Don’t let that dampen your experience. You don’t have to quest with others if you don’t want to. It’s one reason I love my hunter; with my gorilla, we can decimate mobs 3-4 levels above us.

  4. cussedness
    October 26, 2008

    I am definitely running a hunter next time. I have one set up on earthen ring and on skywall. the one on skywall is alliance and the one on earthen ring is horde.

  5. raingods
    October 26, 2008

    For your Horde Hunter, look into my guild, AIE. You can get as involved in it as you want; but have found nothing but help from everyone. With 2500-3000 members, we’re everywhere! Yet it’s not so big you get lost.

  6. cussedness
    October 26, 2008

    How do you get into a guild?

  7. raingods
    October 26, 2008

    ooops, put this on the wrong post initially.

    For my guild, you go to http://www.aie-guild.org and it will give you info on how to join. The only requirements are being level 10, being a horde character, and being on earthen ring. Nope, I don’t get anything for recruiting people, but it’s a great guild, and is very active. We had a fall festival, and took all the new characters on a run through Kalimdor to get all the flight points. ON halloween is the running of the beef, and we’ll be sure to do something come thanksgiving and christmas time as well.

    You can check out their forums here as well, http://www.myextralife.com/forum2/viewforum.php?f=22

    Also: as for Alliance characters, and guilds for them, there are websites (and I’ll find them when I get home), that you can look through to see which would suit you best.

  8. cussedness
    October 27, 2008

    I appreciate this. From both of you.

  9. khazar
    October 27, 2008

    Flame away, but something you do for fun shouldn’t be a major chore.

  10. Sovay
    October 28, 2008

    also, don’t forget. most players of mmos are kids. very young kids. hence, heedless rushing.

  11. cussedness
    October 28, 2008

    According to a demographic the average player at WoW are 28 year old males. Men outnumber the female players 5 to 1. Women tend to be slightly older than the males.

  12. Sovay
    October 28, 2008

    maybe with wow. I’m talking across mmos in general.

  13. khazar
    October 29, 2008

    Not only are most kids, but if they find out a *GASP* female is playing, they really start to act like kids.

  14. Mike Brendan
    October 29, 2008

    I have only one more thing to say about MMOs…

    “GO FOR THE EYES, BOO! GO FOR THE EYES!”

  15. web rpg
    March 30, 2009

    i can\’t wait for a new mmo to replace wow, even if it comes from blizzard again, its getting so old 😐

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2008 by in Janrae Frank and tagged .

Janrae Frank

