Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Christmas is just another day


I work on christmas.  I work on all of the holidays.  Two years ago, Natalie started dragging me upstairs to her place for holiday dinners.  Just the two of us.   Today is is going to be seafood and nibblies.

Throughout the fifteen years of my marriage to Hank, I never received a christmas or birthday gift.

I decided I would have no expectations because I was always disappointed.  Having no expectations means never being disappointed.

I guess I carry that too far sometimes.  Steven wanted to get me a christmas present and I refused to let him.

I think that my marriage might have had a chance if it had not been for several things, but I am only going to mention one of them.  I had a cast iron barrier of training and could not hit first.

I always beat the crap out of Hank once he had landed the first blow.

Christmas was always a misery.  I did my best to protect Sovay from all of it.  I did not succeed, but I tried.  Hank went through money like it grew on trees.

One year, it did not look like he was going to meet his deadlines in time for him to get a check by Christmas.  So I picked up some swatches of  felt at the yardage store and some remnants.  Over the course of two weeks, I assembled from scratch a dragon hand puppet.  I designed it on the fly after making a sketch of what I wanted it to look like.

I sat in the living room at night, when I got home from work, and Sovay watched in wonder as that dragon came to life.  Hank, who thought I had neither talent nor intelligence, was amazed.

The check did arrive in time for Christmas.  However, once Sovay had opened all her presents, she immediately went back to playing with the dragon I had made for her.

She named him Sparky the Baby Dragon.

Hank had spent lavishly on her, many many expensive gifts.  Yet what she loved best had been that dragon made of $5 worth of cast offs from the craft and sewing store.

Sovay, I love you.  Don’t ever forget that.

9 comments on “Christmas is just another day

  1. Johaha
    December 25, 2008

    Happy holidays!

  2. Z
    December 25, 2008

    I love this.

    Happy holidays.

  3. Vern
    December 25, 2008

    My best regards for the season.

    Vern.

  4. Rusty
    December 26, 2008

    Ooh. Now I want a dragon puppet. Happy holidays.

  5. RHFay
    December 26, 2008

    Although I have some rather unpleasant holiday memories (like when my aunt and her boyfriend took me to the grocery store on Christmas Eve to try and avoid me seeing my grandparents in one of their drunken fights), I still make a big deal out of Christmas. Perhaps I make such an effort to create joyful memories because my side of the family was so dreadful.

    And sometimes the best gifts are hand-made, those that come from the heart rather than a store. I once made my daughter a little stuffed Loch Ness Monster for Christmas. The next year, or a few years later, I made her a stuffed Bigfoot. You would be hard pressed to find those sorts of stuffed animals in the stores.

    Anyway, Happy Boxing Day! (I’m a day too late to wish you a Merry Christmas.)

  6. theblackscorpio
    December 27, 2008

    I have a dargon puppet made out of “paper-maché”, some clay-like stuff made out of glue and thin stripes of newspaper leaves. I love it, it is red and golden :o)

  7. khazar
    December 28, 2008

    We hosted Christmas this year, and I’m pleased to announce that there were NO homicides!

  8. Angeline Hawkes
    December 28, 2008

    You’re a great mom, Janrae! You’ve given your daughter so much more than you probably know…

    Here’s to a fantastic 2009! Cheers!

  9. 50footant
    January 3, 2009

    Hopefully you got the present I got you, Cuss. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 25, 2008 by in Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

