Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

The woman who would be Daggy


“You did a professional editing job with a fast turnaround, and you certainly know your SF.” Lawrence Dagstine.

I had a long look at the woman that Dagstine brought up in the ghostwriter thread on Shocklines and found that testimonial.  I contacted her pretending to be a potential client and learned that she has been revising and ghosting his material for the past year which accounts for the improvement in his style.

Considering that all of Dagstine’s sales have been in the semi-semi-pro or the 4theluv markets, he is certainly paying out a lot of money to make nothing at all.

And Dagstine, I am warning you.  I have been in touch with a private investigator who has given me a lot of dirt on you.  Keep on hassling me and I will start making it public.  Then we’ll let the Court of Public Opinion pronounce sentence upon your head.

29 comments on “The woman who would be Daggy

  1. Mike Brendan
    February 25, 2009

    Wow…I just looked at her rates. Given one page equals 250, by her formula, a 20 page story costs $120 on average if she charges by the page, $350 if she charges by the word.

    On average she charges seven cents per word, which even if Daggy sold said work to a pro paying market (by SFWA rules), he’s out $100!

    And yet he claims to make money…

  2. cussedness
    February 25, 2009

    And he has in the past claimed to be on public assistance. Therefore, I am forced to consider the possibility that he is spending most of his meager earnings on a ghostwriter. Earnings that ought to be going to provide for his wife and child.

  3. Mike Brendan
    February 25, 2009

    That’s the part that makes me sick, that he feeds his ego over his family.

  4. CritGit
    February 25, 2009

    Ego over brains, as usual.

    The man has fucked with too many people not to get some back.

  5. CritGit
    February 25, 2009

    Ha! Snap!
    Funny how both thought ‘Ego’ with him. 😉

  6. Mike Brendan
    February 25, 2009

    Warped minds think alike. 🙂

    But that’s exactly what drives Daggy — not love for the written word nor the deep felt desire to share a story. He wants to be acknowledged as a writer, to be called a peer (much like Nikita). He wants to prove he’s better than the pros just by numbers alone, and he refuses to acknowledge that no one’s buying into it.

    Even that’s not enough . With his toxic advice, wanton ignorance towards marketing and genre, Daggy wants to rule some corner of the writing world, to be top dog.

    To bad for him we’re all cats.

  7. cussedness
    February 25, 2009

    I’m not a cat. I’m a lion. ROAR

  8. Mike Brendan
    February 25, 2009

    I’ve always identified with tigers… I just stay close by in the tall grass, then let ya know I’m there. WHAM!

    But I just realized looking that my numbers that with the markets Daggy sells to he’s throwing even more money away. For a penny a word sale of that 5K word story, he’s spending anywhere from $60-600, netting a loss of $10-550, depending on what the rate is.

    Shameful.

  9. johaha
    February 25, 2009

    Well, Mike, Daggy has never been known for his smarts.

    He’s like the retarded cousin kept locked in the attic who’s escaped into the world.

    Find him! Quick! Get a net! Then sell him to the circus. We can all make some real money selling tickets for people to see that freak.

  10. khazar
    February 26, 2009

    He lives in NYC? On what he makes with his writing?

    I hope he can get that cardboard box of theirs over a steam vent.

  11. Michele Lee
    February 27, 2009

    I know Dar through a writing list and she is absolutely a sweetie. She’s a great editor and professional. she’s definitely not a nitwit, no matter who her clients may be.

  12. Darlene Oakley
    February 27, 2009

    Thanks, Michele.

    For the record, I only work with “Daggy” as you call him on a couple of stories. If he turned around and used what he learned from my edits on his other stories, then I’m glad I was able to make a difference.

    And, as for contacting me under the guise of being a client. How dishonest. All you had to do was e-mail me with the real reason you were contacting me. I would have answered you.

    As for my rates…well…all I know is that all of my clients have told me how invaluable my work has been for them and well worth the money. And according to other editing professionals I know, I could (and should) be charging a whole lot more than I do.

    Just my two cents. For the record.

  13. cussedness
    February 27, 2009

    It’s not at all dishonest in my opinion and I am not ashamed of doing it. Otherwise why state here that that was what I did?

    I consider it undercover reporting. I was after all a journalist for 15 years, and my creds include the Washington Post.

    Furthermore, I had no reason to believe that I would get an honest answer from a person who was, at that time, an unknown quantity.

  14. Mike Brendan
    February 27, 2009

    Darlene, I don’t doubt that your rates aren’t worthwhile… I doubt the honesty and integrity of one of your clients. The man doesn’t sell his works to professional markets — ever — so he literally throws his money away to be published in markets with minuscule readerships.

    I can’t speak for Janrae, but Michele thinks highly of you. And unless you flipped off a box of kittens you’re okay in my book.

  15. Rusty
    February 27, 2009

    I think Louise and/or Jodi have also spoken highly of Dar’s work. I have no reason to doubt either one of them. I have to assume Daggy’s paying her on time, or else she wouldn’t have worked on more than one story for him. Can’t say I blame her for taking the work, no matter who her clients are.

  16. cussedness
    February 27, 2009

    My only problem with her is her calling me dishonest. Until I posted this and Michele responded, I had nothing to base my judgment call on except for the persona of her client, Dear Daggy.

    If there is one thing I have learned over the years, it is that it doesn’t pay to trust people I don’t know. Caution.

    I chose not to take the risk that she, a person I had no previous knowledge of, would not go off and tattle to Daggy, then compose the response between them, and do the usual shittery dance I have seen before.

  17. CritGit
    February 27, 2009

    Personally I would have issues about taking money from the likes of him.

    Did Janrae use an alt? If not, don’t see the deceit.

  18. cussedness
    February 27, 2009

    I did not use an alt. I used my real name and wrote an inquiry and gave Daggy as a reference. After all, he did post her name and contact info on Shocklines.

  19. CritGit
    February 27, 2009

    Thought so.

  20. Mike Brendan
    February 27, 2009

    Darlene’s statement may have been more a “knee-jerk” reaction. God knows I’ll done that more than once.

  21. Darlene Oakley
    February 27, 2009

    Thanks, Mike. I appreciate that.

    I guess I still believe in trusting anyone until they give me a reason not to trust them. I like believing that people are usually honest. I have always conducted myself that way and always will.

    I just object to being fed a line, and trusting that the actual reason you were contacting me was to inquire after my services. Then I find out it was a ruse and not really the reason you were e-mailing. That was dishonest. If you had asked me about my working relationship with “Daggy” I would have answered you.

    You saw my website, and my testimonials…make a judgment for yourself what kind of person I am.

    And, for record, the work I did with “Daggy” was under the umbrella of a publisher at the time, so there was no exchange of funds for the work I did.

    Gotta life to run.

    Darlene

  22. Darlene Oakley
    February 27, 2009

    You know, you can think whatever you want about me. If you want to judge me based on the opinion you have of one of my clients, I suppose I can’t stop you.

    When I worked with Larry, he was always forthright, honest and had a couple of good stories worth publishing. But, then, writing is all subjective. Not everyone likes what everyone writes.

    Your attempts to link my reputation to whatever your opinion of “dear daggy” is won’t go very far and, in the end, they won’t hold up…particularly with those who know me.

    Darlene

  23. Johaha
    February 27, 2009

    Darlene, honey, I personally don’t care about you or what you do. if you are happy, cool.

    However, your experience with Daggy is limited. If you researched these posts, you would know who he really is. He threatens people, stalks them, and hurls abuse at anyone who dares criticism him.

    I am sorry to say this, but as someone who runs a business, the people you associate with will—-eventually—come back to haunt you.

    I hope, for your sake, that you get away in time.

  24. cussedness
    February 27, 2009

    Darlene, you are making a mountain out of a molehill. I in no way impugned you. I merely confirmed that those passable stories by Dagstine had, in fact, been given a solid going over by a professional.

    That is all that this post was about.

  25. Mike Brendan
    February 27, 2009

    Well, Larry must have been forcing himself to be honest because he’s anything but. And until he has yet to wrap his brain around some of the basic tenets of writing — grammar, language, spelling, and most of all research. Dagstine has a reputation for stalking, both online and off, threatening and harrasing people. He’s not good business, plain and simple. He’s a slimy hack.

  26. Darlene Oakley
    February 27, 2009

    Thank you for clarifying, cussedness. I’m afraid the comments certainly did come across that way.

    This whole thing about Larry’s apparent reputation is completely new to me. I never saw that side of him at all. So I will plead that I just didn’t know. And no one saw fit to kindly e-mail me and tell me. So, how would I have known.

    It would have been so much simpler to send me an e-mail and tell me of your experiences with him (in fact I would have appreciated this). The on-line world has its dangers of perhaps not really, truly knowing what a person is like. And sometimes it’s good for others with another perspective to step up and say, “Hey, I just wanted to let you know….”

    If someone who’s known me for quite a while hadn’t respected me enough to let me know of this discussion, I still would never have known.

    I will take a couple of days to mull over what I have learned. In the meantime…back to making a living at writing.

    Darlene

    Darlene

  27. CritGit
    February 27, 2009

    I’m sure people would have if they had known. A few have been warned about him and were grateful for it.

    But as Mike said, many see themselves involved in this and think they are being targetted too, then realise and everything is cool. 🙂

  28. cussedness
    February 27, 2009

    If it was Michele, then I am certain her concern was more for your connection with Dagstine than it was a problem with me. Michele is not given to mis-interpreting what I post.

    Hopefully something good can come of this. I suggest that you read the pages I have up. Links are across the top of the page just under the sub title.

  29. khazar
    February 27, 2009

    People are strange. They’ll be sweethearts to colleagues and terrors to family. Generous to strangers and cheap to family. When they need something they’re quick to pay while stiffing the landlord.

    That’s Fagstine. He needed Darlene, and was therefore Mr Supercool Professional. When he no longer needs her, he’ll show his true colors.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2009 by in lawrence dagstine, legion of nitwits, Mike Philbin, Hertzan Chimera, Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

