Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Free Indirect Style


Validation is always nice.  Over the past eight years, since I began to actively write fiction again, several people have tried to get me to mend my ways and write in a different style.

What I do is consistent, but rather old fashioned (or so I am told) and some have called it (erroneously) third omniscient.  Luna Black got the closest to it when she called it “Russian Panoramic” but that was not right either.

I tried so hard to tone the style down that I only ended up dissatisfied and unhappy over the past few years.  I have a style that is natural to me, which started developing back when I was reading Dostoyevski, Tolstoy, and most especially Nicolai Gogol at 13.

Then yesterday a present from a friend arrived.

It’s a book by James Wood called “How Fiction Works.”

Lo and Behold, the style I write in has a name.  The entire book is about Free Indirect Style.

Yes, it is an old-fashioned style; but so long as it works, why fix it?

5 comments on “Free Indirect Style

  1. CritGit
    March 27, 2009

    As long as you’re not talking gibberish then do what suits you best.

    I say it is Bloody Cuss Style though. :p

  2. CritGit
    March 27, 2009

    😛

  3. CritGit
    March 27, 2009

    Ah, worked the second time. 😉

  4. Johaha
    March 28, 2009

    It’s original and fresh, unlike most things in the bookstores today. I call mass market books “pop” style. Like the music, it’s all the same and rather bland.

    But the Bloody Cuss Style is a breath of fresh air.

  5. cuss kid
    March 29, 2009

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zP2C0dCUD3A this is worth it for anyone to watch

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

