Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Who owns a word?


I could use a bit of help here from those who are widely read in fantasy and science fiction. I have been using the word “polymancer” since 1979, and now I am being told that I can’t use the word.

I am certain that the word has been around since the Golden Age, but most of my library is in storage.

Out of the blue, I was contacted by a Canadian RPG company claiming that I was infringing their trademark and that I must remove it from all of my published works.

If any of you can find the word in an old zine or book, I would appreciate knowing about it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2009 by in Janrae Frank and tagged .

Janrae Frank

