Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Polyfuckers failed to do their homework


Instead of simply finding a word on my website and attempting to shake me down, they should have taken a long hard look at just who and what they were dealing with.

I was shaken initially.  I called my gunslinger and had him deal with them while I pulled myself together.  I went over 30 hours without sleep, living on coffee, smokes, and chocolate candy, while I investigated them and contacted my experts.

And I posted across the net, certain that, as always people would come to me with leads and information.

They did.

As the investigation continues, I will say that they may be facing criminal charges as well as a countersuit should they try to carry out their threats.

They sent an email to the owner of sfreader, Dave Felts, and he posted it on the thread I started.  Their so-called legal beagle did not know proper legal language nor the difference between libel and slander.

The name of their legal beagle does not show up on a search on either the Canadian or American Bar Association membership rosters.

11 comments on “Polyfuckers failed to do their homework

  1. Rusty
    May 5, 2009

    Their legal beagle doesn’t know what monthly means, either. All he’s succeeding in doing, by pursuing this nonsense, is gaining a bad reputation for himself, the magazine, and the company.

    I’ll have to go check out SFreader.

  2. raingods
    May 5, 2009

    Needless to say, you have my full support and if there’s anything I can do, please let me know.

  3. Johaha
    May 5, 2009

    Poly want the judge to post bail?

    You’re going down, bitch!

  4. cussedness
    May 5, 2009

    I appreciate it, Rain.

    My attorney says that there is nothing we can do until they send me a registered letter. At that point, we can take further action.

    Hopefully they will STFU.

  5. Johaha
    May 5, 2009

    If there is anything you’d like me to do to Daggy at Coney, I’ll be happy to help.

  6. JupiterPluvius
    May 5, 2009

    The most ridiculous thing ever. Obviously Graham Nelson should sue them. And the Imperium LARP folks as well. Also Lost Coast LARP.

    They’re morons.

  7. rich
    May 5, 2009

    WTF? It’s 2009! They still haven’t taken this down?

    Polymancer® Studios Inc. is proud to announce that it has fully recovered from the devastating hacker attack that befell our main corporate website at the end of December 2007. Over the next week our website will become operational piece by piece, so please be patient while that takes place. We thank you all for understanding, supporting us through it all, and offering kind words during this ordeal.

    Again many thanks to you all for understanding.

  8. cussedness
    May 5, 2009

    They aren’t much really.

    I’m still suspicious even with the apology I got from the owner, Chris Lang.

    I am supposed to get a written apology no later than Friday.

  9. vern
    May 5, 2009

    Seems like all the Polymancer websites has gone pop, gone! I was impressed with the 170 odd friends on their myspace as well. For a publication that allegadly suffered as a result of your use of words, their online presence is pretty poor!

  10. raingods
    May 6, 2009

    In my interview with Terry, he talked about problems he had with Isaac Asimov wanting to sue him over the title for his book, “The Intelligent Man’s Guide to Flying Saucers”.

    ” I knew that Asimov had a series of books with the title prefix “The Intelligent Man’s Guide to”… but that didn’t bother me (in fact, he threatened to sue me, after the book was published, but backed off when his lawyers told him that titles couldn’t be copyrighted). ”

    If a title can’t be copyrighted (and Asimov certainly has more fame and clout than these yahoos could ever dream about), I don’t see how a word can.

  11. Rusty
    May 6, 2009

    Vern’s right. All their sites are “down for maintenance.” I LOLed. Someone there has obviously been reading various comments about how lousy at least one of their sites was, especially for a company that offers layout/design services.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 5, 2009 by in writing, janrae frank, dark fantasy, horror and tagged , , .

Janrae Frank

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

