Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Summation


Tim composed the first letters that I sent under my own name. He also made the first phone contact.

This bought me time to get focused enough to figure out how best to handle it. I had initially gone into an “I’ll rip your throats out” anger mode.

Because I made my decision in the late hours of the night and the early hours of the morning, I did not have an opportunity to alert Tim that he had just become good cop to my bad cop before I started work on the situation.

The biggest challenge initially was proving prior usage by a sufficient number of writers to demonstrate that the word individually and in all contexts of usage pre-dated their trademark and that the trademark was good only in the context for it was granted.

I phoned Tim to let him know that I had sufficent evidence and documentation to nail them to the wall if it went to court. Tim was not available, but his wife informed me that Andrew had been calling his home that day (Tuesday) and the day before (Monday) at all hours in an obsessive fashion.

So I said “I’ll take care of it.” And then I phoned Polymancer. I went in guns blazing, expecting it to be Andrew on the other end of the phone. The voice sounded young, which seemed to confirm my belief that it was Andrew.

He said, “Hello?”
I said, “I’ve got you fucking assholes by the balls.”
He said, with a nervous giggle, “Pardon me? Who is this?”

It turned out that I had gotten, not Andrew, but Chris Lang, the owner. We ended up having a very nice conversation that included a discussion of Weird Tales and pulp magazines. And I was repeatedly assured that I would receive an apology from Andrew in email. I was also told to call Chris back if I had not received it by Friday.

I then went upstairs to Natalie’s place. We ordered pizza and watched old Marx brothers movies. When we carried my share of the leftovers to my apartment, we arrived just as I received a call back from Chris, who again assured me that Polymancer’s trademark applied only to the context of a magazine. He also told me that Andrew had been ‘demoted’ and I would receive that apology today.

Hopefully this is the end of it.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2009 by in Janrae Frank and tagged , , .

Janrae Frank

