Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

It must be my fault


I try hard to communicate with people, but then when I finally lose my temper they are surprised and offended.

To my mind I had tried repeatedly to discuss and make it all understood.  At times I have believed that I was understood.

In the end nothing was achieved and months passed.

I suppose there are two possibilities.

1) the person did not remember our previous conversations.

2) I cannot communicate well.

I suppose I ought to add a third one:

I can’t succeed at anything.

11 comments on “It must be my fault

  1. khazar
    June 10, 2009

    #4 The other party is deliberately being difficult

  2. cussedness
    June 10, 2009

    It’s happened with more than one person.

    It’s beginning to look like a pattern of failure on my part.

  3. SirOtter
    June 10, 2009

    Or it could be an epidemic of ineptitude amongst the minions. To paraphrase the Bard:

    ‘Tis meet I set it down, that one may smile, and smile, and be incompetent.

    Maybe it’s time to break out the rattan.

  4. cussedness
    June 10, 2009

    The problem is definitely me. It’s nothing new.

  5. cuss kid
    June 11, 2009

    i suck at communicating too.

  6. CritGit
    June 11, 2009

    Ha! You don’t scare me! :p

  7. khazar
    June 11, 2009

    Some people need blunt force trauma. Just be blunt & don’t try to be nice with these people. They only understand when hit with a clue by four.

  8. SirOtter
    June 11, 2009

    Can you break the tasks down into more manageable chunks? Ask for more frequent progress reports. Hold people accountable; if their procrastination affects somebody else, let the injured party know about it and give them free rein to rip the offender a new one. Lead by example; always have some just finished task handy to wave in the recalcitrants’ faces. ‘If I can do it, why the fuck can’t you?’

  9. Mike Brendan
    June 11, 2009

    Well I know in my case it was ME not communicating well, so don’t be so hard on yourself.

  10. SirOtter
    June 11, 2009

    As long as I have ya’ll’s attention, I just want to brag on a couple of my students who are in this short film:

    Joe Bob says check it out!

  11. Rusty
    June 15, 2009

    I love that video. I can’t dance like that, let alone hum on key, so I can really appreciate that one. Those kids are spectacular.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 9, 2009 by in Janrae Frank.

Janrae Frank

