Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Has Been


Why does it always come down to this?

I’m dealing with a prima dona over at my message board.

He’s been a freelance journalist for all of 18 months.

And he’s giving inaccurate advice to people.

And I’m a washed up, unprofessional, has-been for challenging him in my usual Cuss Mode.

32 comments on “Has Been

  1. C
    June 26, 2009

    Wow.
    What a dick!! He sounds like he’s Dagstine’s twin – you know, the one that finished high school.

    I would like to set him on fire and then go get some hot dogs to roast. I mean, it’s simply a fabulous idea to insult the owner of a magazine that you wanted to be in — but wait.. I though he said that “short stories don’t pay?” Why is he submitting to magazines then?

    Someone forgot to take his dose of Abilify…

  2. Rusty
    June 26, 2009

    Did Dagstine clone himself? How is the fact that he prefers to travel all over Europe with his wife rather than make a buck relevant to, well, anything? How is the fact (assuming it’s not a lie) that he used to run a construction company in Colorado relevant to anything?

    It’s too bad I’ve forgotten my user name/password for your forum. I probably can’t even retrieve them, since my old Verizon email address no longer exists. I’m severely tempted to post a failboat macro.

  3. cussedness
    June 26, 2009

    Just rejoin. That’s what Sqrl just did.

  4. Rusty
    June 26, 2009

    I tried that. Let’s see what happens. So far, I haven’t gotten a confirmation email at my gmail addy, and I know I typed it correctly.

  5. cussedness
    June 26, 2009

    you used your yahoo addy to register with the board. So you ought to simply be able to get your old account back.

  6. Richard H. Fay
    June 26, 2009

    Well, it seems that certain corners of the writing world feel that anyone outside of their personal “professional level”, or beyond their circle of known “professionals”, is fair game for insults and put-downs. If you’re not a mere wannabe, you’re simply a washed up has-been. Certain individuals in the field are notorious for such attitudes (something I found out through personal experience).

    I’ve been wondering why things have to be this way, why such nastiness always seems to rear its ugly head. All I can figure is that egos often run rampant in the writing field, and tearing others down strokes those overly-inflated egos.

    It makes me want to concentrate more and more on my art (which is what I’ve been doing lately, actually).

  7. Jack C. Young
    June 26, 2009

    Sounds like a case of overblown AND insecure ego. Mr. Fay has it right, I believe. I don’t know just what this jerk’s problem is, but I have to agree with the sentiments expressed by C.
    Don’t waste any more time with “Mr. brass balls” than is necessary to squash him and move on. You are one of the clearest and most to “to-the-point” writers maintaining a blog today. Illigitimi non carborundum. (Don’t let the bastards get you down. LOL.

  8. C
    June 26, 2009

    OMG! Someone has agreed to my sentiments! Why didn’t anyone tell me that Hell froze over?? Mr. Young, will you tell my mom this? 😉

  9. SirOtter
    June 26, 2009

    Is his story one that was paid for under the previous regime? If so, I’d go ahead and print it in the next issue, but in the smallest, most difficult font possible, unless he refunds the money for the yarn. But then, I’m petty that way, sometimes.

  10. SirOtter
    June 26, 2009

    That should be difficult to read font. Mea culpa.

  11. CritGit
    June 26, 2009

    Hahahahaha, evil otter!

  12. Jack C. Young
    June 26, 2009

    I think your mom already knows you have a first class mind. But I’ll tell her. And please call me Jack.
    Sir Otter, how about publishing said story in Urdu? (Bwahahahahahahahaah!)

  13. susie hawes
    June 27, 2009

    I got a little testy. Sorry, I shouldn’t feed the trolls, but the hypocritical way he called you down for rudeness when he was far more offensive just pissed me off.

  14. cussedness
    June 27, 2009

    Yes, Otter, it was a story that was paid for by the previous owner. TW stopped the story in the middle of the action and claimed it was an “uncertain ending” in the same sense as the ‘first Gray Mouser” story was.

  15. Rusty
    June 27, 2009

    As a typical reader, I’d find that a hell of a letdown.

  16. khazar
    June 27, 2009

    He knew where he submitted, knew the terms, and expects to be treated like Norman Mailer at the New Yorker.

    He’s lucky he’s being treated like Norman Bates at San Quentin.

  17. Rusty
    June 27, 2009

    Thank you for saying that, so I didn’t have to.

  18. SirOtter
    June 28, 2009

    Yes, in Urdu. Backwards. And upside down.

    I don’t recall ‘Two Sought Adventure’ ending without resolving most of the plot issues. Regardless, it takes more than a bit of chutzpah to compare oneself to Fritz Leiber.

  19. rich
    June 28, 2009

    I find this nugget slightly amusing:

    “It’s wonderful to see such professionalism from the owner of the magazine :)”

    When the only person really displaying a lack of professionalism is really him…

  20. susie hawes
    June 28, 2009

    that’s what I said.

  21. Johaha
    June 29, 2009

    Holy smoke! Flea market Larry has a doppleganger!
    Only this retard managed to get himself a high school diploma.

    Moron!

  22. Johaha
    June 29, 2009

    There’s a new Nitwit in town.

  23. cussedness
    June 29, 2009

    He has all the makings of a nitwit. However, one thing keeps me from labeling him as such: he does appear to have a modicum of talent.

  24. raingods
    June 30, 2009

    Talent can overcome assholism, if you’re Harlan Ellison. This guy clearly isn’t even close to being there.

  25. cussedness
    June 30, 2009

    I won’t argue that, Raingods. He’s definitely not Harlan.

  26. Jack C. Young
    July 1, 2009

    And Harlan has good reasons for his sometimes “assholiness”. His article “You Don’t Know me, I don’t Know You” (published originally in F&SF–I’ll have to research the date) as well as some of his tales in The Glass Teat and The Other Glass Teat (both hilariously scathing reviews of network TV) make a lot of his public hostility a bit more understandable.
    His intimates assure of a completly different personality entirely. Well, they aren’t threatening him or deliberately pissing him off. (I have seen this happen at several World Cons. (Back when I coult afford to attend World Cons.
    Unpleasant or not, Harlan is an elder god in his field.

  27. Jack C. Young
    July 1, 2009

    “You Don’t Know Me, I Don’t Know You was published in F&SF, July, 1977. It was reprinted in SLEEOLESS NIGHTS IN THE PROCRUSTEAN BED (Borgo Press, July, 1984).

  28. cussedness
    July 2, 2009

    I have seen the other side of Harlan and found him charming. He kissed me twice at a party when I was 24

  29. Rusty
    July 3, 2009

    FWIW, I can get pretty darn testy, but I don’t have the pressure of being a public figure. I hope grace would overcome instinct, if I ever had to deal with that. Yeah, like that’d ever happen.

  30. cussedness
    July 3, 2009

    Professionalism for people like TW seems to be a matter of the publisher and the editor keeping their mouths shut while the writers walk all over them, and then cutting the writer a big check in exchange for the abuse.

  31. Rusty
    July 3, 2009

    That’s simply not the way it works. Rule #1 in any business: never abuse the person who cuts your paycheck.

  32. cussedness
    July 3, 2009

    He won’t sell another piece to Flashing Swords.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 26, 2009 by in legion of nitwits, writing, janrae frank, dark fantasy, horror.

Janrae Frank

