Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Niche writing


I suppose that it could also be called ghetto.  Whether you choose to call what I write ghetto or niche (profane or polite) it doesn’t change that fact that it is what it is.

Even as I write this post, I know that someone will snap  up pieces of it as a justification for their own choices.

I proved myself to myself in my youth.  Yes, I rant and I rage at times, but in those still, calm moments, when I am centered and at peace, I would not change what I have.

I don’t know how many of you ever listened to Frank Sinatra, but his song “I did it my way” has always touched a chord with me.  I always did it my way.

It was never easy and there was hell to pay for it more often than not.  My grandmother despaired of ever teaching me anything as a child, because for every good solid suggestion she made to me, I came up with a different (frequently less workable) solution to the problem we were discussing.

My daughter is like that also.  Many times I just want to slap her.  But then I have to shrug and grin, because we all know that paybacks are a bitch.  Everything that she does to me, things that infuriate me most, are the exact same things I did to my grandmother.

I keep dragging my feet about trying to get an agent, or even finishing something new to submit to an agent or a publisher.

It all comes down to ‘my way’ and wanting to do things my way.

While I would love to have books published by the majors, I would have to give them what they wanted.

My way.  My way is not their way.  I have enough fans and an audience base to enjoy.  But more important is my lifelong inability to compromise.

So instead, I will keep my niche and plant roses in the flower boxes of my ghetto, and be satisfied with what I have.

Because I can do it my way.

6 comments on “Niche writing

  1. Richard H. Fay
    June 30, 2009

    Good for you! Be true to yourself. Don’t let others dictate where your creativity should lead.

    I’m the same way with my poetry, and I’ve said as much more than once. I do try to listen to advice, sometimes, but I can be quite stubborn when it come to my creative visions. I tend to go my own way, follow my instincts, and hope for the best. I’ve been called a wannabe and poetaster by some, but I’ve also been called a bard and master poet by others.

    Who is right, and who is wrong? Perhaps it’s simply a matter of opinion. Imagine that?

    (Speculative poetry may be seen by some as merely a block in a wider writing ghetto. Or maybe I just tend to dwell on the negative when I should concentrate the positive. I’m like that at times.)

  2. Rusty
    June 30, 2009

    I’ve always been stubborn, but had to keep it under wraps while still working in advertising. It has served me rather well over the years, though.

    If I had trouble learning “new math,” which was all the rage when I was in grade school, my dad taught me the old fashioned way of going about it. The teacher didn’t always understand my means of getting to the answer, but couldn’t argue with it being correct. For many years, I made a living off my math skills.

    I eschewed the use of my undergrad college’s career placement office, and its advice for getting a job. The result was that I had a job lined up months before graduating, in a really sucky economy, much like today’s, while nearly 90% of my class hadn’t even begun a search until later that summer. From thereon, getting interviews and finding a new job was always pretty easy for me. Sure, I had to stifle my real opinion about some things along the way, and just do what the boss demanded. Even during the dot-bomb layoffs of 2001, I had a new job lined up before my severance ran out.

    In two really down markets for real estate, against most (unsolicited) advice from others, I bought new homes before I put my old one on the market. The first time, I had a contract on the place within a month. This time around, it most likely won’t happen that fast. Regardless, I’m much happier for following my own instincts, and taking the plunge.

    Things have a way of working out in the end. As the saying goes, money can’t buy happiness. If it pays the bills, it really can be good enough.

    Besides, I aspire to becoming an old curmudgeon. I think I have a pretty good head start on it. 😉

  3. Jack C. Young
    June 30, 2009

    You generally know what’s best for yourself. No one else can. And since nearly everyone else will have a knee-jerk “You don’t know what your talking about” reaction, it’s best that you just ignore them and do what you were planning to do anyway.
    Of course you already know that. So forge on ahead. LOL. 🙂

  4. Rusty
    June 30, 2009

    What Jack said.

  5. Me
    July 1, 2009

    I understand. I just fired my agent because she wanted me to be something I’m not.

  6. raingods
    July 5, 2009

    While it’s nice when what you write (and when I say you I mean in general terms), fits in with what others want; but 90% of the time that’s never the case. It’s one thing to listen to an editor, but another to change what you write because of the way the wind happens to be blowing at that moment.

    It’s called principles, and it’s one of the reasons I like you as much as I do.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 30, 2009 by in writing, janrae frank, dark fantasy, horror and tagged .

Janrae Frank

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

