Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Work, work, work


On Tuesday I spent two hours in an IM conference with brainstorming on an epic scale battle scene for Loyalty of Wolves. Mike was awesome.

There is only so much you can glean from reading historical accounts of battles. Once you toss in the fantasy elements, it gets far more complex.

One of the things I tend to do is to think of mages as artillery and monsters as tanks. Yet it still falls way short of getting in all the aspects and potentials at epic length.

Word on the street is keep your eye on Timmons Esaias of Seaton Hill, who is currently doing research on a book that will revolutionize the way that genre writers understand warfare. Great things are coming. But I am not saying anything more.

My to-do list is insane today. I’m wired tired, going on 3 hours sleep and too much coffee.

Every time I get my priorities figured out and on a list, something else crops up that I failed to anticipate.

To say that I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed and maddened like the proverbial bull would be to put it mildly.

I have been trying to get the royalties figured out so I can get my writers paid in time for Christmas. I struggled with the way that LSI does them. You can only get the individual title sales on the website. When they send you a notice of royalties owed and payments, they shove it all together.

I had them email me a copy of them to import to excel. It was tab separated. When I tried to import it, excel had a heart attack. What I ended up with was a mess. So much for that option.

I tried using print. I had to do each month singly. So it came out with no dates and in micro sized print that requires using a magnifying glass to read. SIGH. But at least I have something to work with.

When I first found where to go for the royalties on their website (takes hunting to figure out), I mistook what I was seeing for total sales, when it was monthly sales.

If anyone out there knows how to do this in an easier fashion, I would appreciate suggestions.

I’m feeling very inept.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 5, 2009 by in Janrae Frank and tagged , .

Janrae Frank

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

