Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

poor old david ‘iron dave’ byron


It seems that David Byron who ripped off several authors is now having a spot of trouble and wants authors and others to give him nearly $2k to rescue him.

Good luck with that David *snicker*

From: “david byron” *****gmail.com
Sent: Monday, January 18, 2010 12:56:05 PM GMT -05:00 US/Canada Eastern
Subject: please i need your favor

Hello,

How are you doing? I just believe you are doing great. This might just be a surprise to you but I want you to pardone me for not informing you about my traveling to Edinburg for a three days Seminar. It was something urgent and i didn’t even inform anyone about this traveling.   You know what, I just got myself in serious trouble here due to my carelessness. I got my wallet misplaced on my way to the hotel I lodge in after the Seminar yesterday which was actually the last day. My money,phone, cards,diary, my return ticket and other vital documents are all in the wallet. I’m so worrried now as I have lost all contacts. I can not even make calls, i just have to use the internet to send you this email so that you could help me out with $1700 to sort myself out here and to pay for my hotel bills. But I will appreciate any amount you could afford. I will pay you back as soon as I get back home.

You can send the fund with my name and the address below via any Western union money transfer outlet around you or inside any bank.  This is the fastest way for me to receive the fund here immediately. I will really appreciate your effort in helping me out.

Name :   david byron
Address:*deleted to protect the guilty*

Thanks alot, looking forward to hearing from you soon

26 comments on “poor old david ‘iron dave’ byron

  1. Rusty
    January 19, 2010

    We’re supposed to believe this scambag (sic) had to make a last minute “seminar”? One, these things are organized long in advance; two, you pay when you check in to both the hotel and event, if you didn’t beforehand. Since he allegedly attended the event, and stayed at the hotel, it reeks of bulshit. Besides, a simple call to the airline should be enough to secure a replacement return ticket.

    The biggest absurdity of the whole tale is that even if he had the money in hand, he’d still have to get a replacement passport from the embassy, or he wouldn’t be allowed to board the flight, let alone get back into the country.

  2. Rusty
    January 20, 2010

    Oh wow! Doc Byron really got his ass handed to him about starting a new magazine to publish fanfic.

  3. AlKilyu
    January 20, 2010

    Holy shit that’s creepy to me. It’s creepy someone could send that using their name and not some anonymous Nigerian email and set-up…it’s surreal!

  4. AlKilyu
    January 20, 2010

    “My email account has been compromised, and the hacker has been sending out fraudulent emails trying to solicit money in the amount of $1,700. If you have recieved any such emails from this address db5948@gmail.com , with the name David Byron signed to it, and this address

    80 High Street

    The Royal Mile

    EH1 – 1TH

    Edinburgh, UK

    Then delete it on sight. This is NOT from me.

    INstead, use this email to contact me nvfmagazine@gmail.com and I will reply to your email ASAP.

    Thanks,

    David Byron / CEO/ NVF Magazine”

    I uh…am not a fan of tooting my own horn…but I smelled weird Nigerian scam wording in that email when I first saw it (as documented above! lol) so honestly, that may be the case.

  5. cussedness
    January 20, 2010

    Thanks for the link, Al. I am gratified to see that this opportunistic scumbag is getting his arse handed to him over at SL.

  6. cussedness
    January 20, 2010

    Al, that email address matches up with two that I previously received from him. And, I seriously doubt that his account was compromised.

    I think that, once the story got out of what he was doing, he decided to try to suggest that his account was hacked. The recent hacking of those Chinese activists’ google accounts no doubt inspired him.

  7. Rusty
    January 20, 2010

    Yeah, I agree, Cuss. And asking people to delete the evidence of his wrongdoing wasn’t such a smooth move, was it?

  8. susie hawes
    January 21, 2010

    *sigh* te drama of it all.

  9. AlKilyu
    January 21, 2010

    OH missed the “delete it on site” part.

  10. cussedness
    January 21, 2010

    Another thing, Al, is that nigerian scammers would not bring up an amount that was under 100k. And they would not have sent this to his friends’ list because many of the other people who got that email know him personally.

  11. Rusty
    January 21, 2010

    This is from Iron Dave’s previous email to Cuss (see her previous blog entry):

    CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This e-mail message, including any attachments, is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply e-mail and destroy all copies of the original message. Thank you. Your e-mail address is not shared and is kept confidential.

    His m.o. does seem to be to tell everyone to keep his correspondence confidential, or destroy it. So, he didn’t actually threaten legal action, but he did state that sharing his stuff is “prohibited.” Both there, and in his post at SL, he asks unintended recipients to delete the correspondence. That’s pretty much laying the groundwork for being able to disavow sending it.

  12. cussedness
    January 22, 2010

    Rusty, can you link me to the spot at Shocklines where he discusses this letter?

    He has not contacted me personally to ask that I remove it (could he be afraid of me and trying to get himself a posse before taking me to task?

  13. Rusty
    January 22, 2010
  14. cussedness
    January 22, 2010

    Thanks, Rusty.

    He’s clearly in the wrong and he’s clearly guilty.

  15. kitsunenongrata
    February 10, 2010

    is he still causing problems or has he dropped off the face of the earth?

  16. B. lewk
    October 2, 2010

    David Byron, whose real name is David Boyer, hasn’t dropped off the face of the Earth.

    His plagiarism is in the spotlight for stealing “Electrocuting The Clowns” by Ferrel “Rick” Moore.

    Please check Ferrel’s posting on this and lend him some support.

    http://thewriterandthewhitecat.blogspot.com/2010/10/pin-tail-on-this-plagiarist.html

    Do you know of any other authors that he has stolen their stories?

  17. Rick Moore
    October 2, 2010

    The loser is still alive and well. You might want to check out my posting on him at http://thewriterandthewhitecat.blogspot.com

    He stole my story “Electrocuting the Clowns” and sold it to several other magazines and has it posted at Lulu.com and other places for sale at two dollars per download. He’s a serious creep. You should see what he’s been up to. He’s opening a new magazine after changing his name to “Leo Wolfe” and soliciting more manuscripts. His real name appears to be David Boyer, although he also uses “Iron Dave” (yeah, right), David Byron, Doc Byron, etc.

    After you see what’s going on you might want to post again.

  18. cussedness
    October 3, 2010

    I”m looking into it. This blog is currently on a direct feed to my amazon author’s account and I have moved my rants like this one over to my alt blog, http://carcinomangel.wordpress.com/

  19. sam
    October 3, 2010

    shit!!! I published that story in House of Horror. Please advise on what I can do

  20. Rusty
    October 3, 2010

    What name did Iron Dave use to submit that story, Sam? I’ve got a blog post of my own about this incident.

  21. cussedness
    October 3, 2010

    I am glad you jumped in, Rusty. I’m having entirely too many health issues right now to give the matter the attention it deserves.

  22. Lana
    October 3, 2010

    He’s claiming that his account was hacked, but regardless, this person is a blatant plagiarist. See here; http://thewriterandthewhitecat.blogspot.com/2010/10/pin-tail-on-this-plagiarist.html

  23. Lana
    October 3, 2010

    A thousand pardons…I see my friend’s plight has already been mentioned!

  24. Marina J. Lostetter
    October 21, 2010

    What a strange coincidence. I just followed a few links here after reading Victoria Strauss’s blog post about this man on the Writer Beware blog. About three weeks ago I got an e-mail from my “uncle” that is nearly identical to this one (the amount of money was different, and it was London, not Edinburg). Of course, it wasn’t from my uncle, even though it was signed by him. His account had been hijacked. So, either Mr. Bryon the plagiarist also got his account hijacked which just happened to shine some light on his *actual* nefarious activities… or perhaps he and his associates have been involved in other sinister ventures?

  25. N. Pacione
    November 9, 2010

    FUCK YOU BOYER/BYRON — you’ve fucked with a Pacione. I am playing a little game with this asshole in my anthology. I am going to find someone whose willing to use any of his pen names as a horror target and that story messes with him to the core. There’s a special place in Hell for plagiarists. The Fandom Writer illustrated that hell nicely. Have fun swimming in a sea of burning piss motherfucker. Don’t call me an asshole when I am in the fucking right. You demand money you dick, yeah right everyone should be sending you a damn invoice for all the people you screwed.

  26. Rusty
    November 9, 2010

    Good lord. Peaches is like the guy who shows up the day after Thanksgiving, in a sheet with a couple of eye holes cut out, and yells “Trick or Treat!”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 19, 2010 by in Janrae Frank and tagged , .

Janrae Frank

