Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Microcosm


Right now I am mainly ebook and small press. I squandered a lot of great opportunities when I was younger.

However, what is going on in my life (and that of many other professional author operating at my level) is a microcosm of what is happening to people at the upper levels of the industry.

Sometimes I have hope that society (and wannabes) will find some source of reality.

All that most of us want is a little peace to create stories in.

Tearing authors down on a personal level does not make the assailant’s fiction any better than it was before.

I have seen many, many people — this is not about just me — getting personal attacks from amateurs and wannabes.

What exactly is something like this supposed to accomplish?

Taste in books is a very subjective thing. Writing is extremely subjective, although we try to do the best we can.

No one is going to like the same things across the board.

I hate liver. My grandmother loved fried chicken livers.

I will eat just about anything if you put some cheese on top of it. I know people who hate cheese.

Books are no different.

Attacking an author on a personal level over something they wrote is really no different than condemning me to hell for liking cheese.

Or my grandmother for liking chicken livers.

There are days when it simply baffles me thinking about people who do this kind of thing.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2010 by in Janrae Frank and tagged , .

Janrae Frank

