Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Tainted by Association: hows and whys


As I watched the arguments happen between two of my commenters over Lindsay, I felt that I had to discuss the topic of becoming tainted by association. First, this process of assumption that birds of a feather flock together is not always true. The only way that Lindsay can or will be considered “tainted” (not my word) is if she continues to champion Tabetha.  I have been assured that will not happen again.

Simply because a freelancer (whether artist or writer)  has done work for a questionable company does not stain their reputation.  Depending upon the circumstances, some of those jobs should be left off the resume as they have no worth. Freelancers do not have influence with a company. I’ve seen some freelancers fade out of sight after making bad decisions in relation to friends and employers, and then come back to find substantial success. It all depends upon the person themselves and whether they have the strength. These “taints” don’t carry over and most people will forgive and forget the little guy.

As for friendship, it’s an odd duck. We are friends with people for complex reasons and we always want to think the best of them. To drop a friend lightly is become a fickle individual. Telling Lindsay to stop being friends with Tabetha will have the same effect as telling a teenager to who she can and can’t date, with about as much success. Let it drop.

Pulling the subject of Lindsay into this conversation is diverting us from dealing with Tabetha herself.

14 comments on “Tainted by Association: hows and whys

  1. Martha Wilson
    December 25, 2012

    Thank you for this, I will let Lindsay know you have been kind enough to post this.
    Merry Christmas.

  2. cussedness
    December 26, 2012

    http://www.amazon.co.uk/Vampire-Hunters-Daughter-Part-ebook/dp/B005GSS26K/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1356524326&sr=1-1

    Have a look at this review by Lindsay. I have taken a screenshot of it. This is what Lindsay seems to be all about.

  3. Martha Wilson
    December 26, 2012

    I’m sorry I’m afraid I don’t follow you. I’ve read the review, its 2 stars. It could have been worse, it could have been 1 star. I remember all the group associate with the author ganging up on Lindsay because she spoke her mind. An awful lot of other authors came to her defence and told her to always be honest and say what she thinks. Isn’t that what a review is supposed to be. I’ve seen far worse and its not even a 1 star review.

  4. Martha Wilson
    December 26, 2012

    If I don’t respond, please don’t think me rude, I’m going on holiday tomorrow for a week and I need to get some ironing and packing done. Nowhere fancy, just going to see some of my nephews and brother in Cornwall. If I don’t speak to you before, I hope you and everyone else I have had the pleasure of speaking to here has a wonderful New Year and I wish you all the very best for 2013.

  5. cussedness
    December 26, 2012

    Of course, Lindsay, I understand completely. You’re going to pull a disappearance now. After all, poor little you could not stand the mildest of criticisms, but you sure can hand it out.

  6. Lepplady
    December 26, 2012

    Oh snap.

  7. Martha Wilson
    December 26, 2012

    Lindsay hasn’t been here for the last few days. You already know this. Would you like me to cancel my holiday? Would that make you feel better?

  8. Lepplady
    December 26, 2012

    You’re a busy girl, Martha, replying on blogs and rushing all these messages to Lindsay so she can see them and pm people about them.

  9. Martha Wilson
    December 26, 2012

    I text her yes, you two were supposed to be FB friends and since you’ve always said you had no problem with her, I thought it only fair to warn her that you are a backstabber.

  10. Lepplady
    December 26, 2012

    How old are you again?

  11. Rusty
    December 26, 2012

    It seems to me that Martha has a much more personal stake in this than simply defending a relative. If it were simply that, she would have given up her ghost hunt a couple of days ago, rather than taking personal affront to every comment. Folks would have stopped talking about her niece days ago, if she hadn’t kept bringing her name ad nauseum. *shrugs*

  12. Martha Wilson
    December 26, 2012

    You may be right Rusty. I just get defensive. I can’t help it. But I was also here to express my concerns about her being involved with Tabetha.

    Lepplady I am 57 years old.

  13. Lepplady
    December 26, 2012

    I’ve got to give you all credit for keeping busy, there, Martha. Posting on blogs and all the while texting Lindsay up to the second reports on what people are saying. If that’s not dedication to a cause, I don’t know what is.
    And God bless Lindsay, for staying out of it and letting you look like… this.

  14. Martha Wilson
    December 26, 2012

    I chose to do this, knowing full well she wouldn’t be on here. Would you like her to come on, even though people clearly didn’t want her here?

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

