Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Lindsay, paranormal romance community, and strays


Lindsay discusses what I did and said in publishing her email. At that time, I lost my temper over what appeared to be Lindsay posting as various people and I wanted the truth in the open. Do I regret it? No.

I’m sick of the games being played on my blog, in my email, and on various other people. Whether it is Lindsay doing it or Tabetha alone, it needs to be out there so that we can get to the bottom of the situation.

I am appalled at what I am discovering within the paranormal romance small press. It is very different from what I am accustomed to within the horror/sf/fantasy communities. We get our share of bad publishers, but we expose them and then go on about our business. I hope in time to discover that the paranormal romance small presses have many redeeming virtues and that Tabetha Jones is an aberration.

I don’t read paranormal romance, nor do any of my staff.  We can name one, or at most two, authors in the field and those mostly because you hear a lot about them in the trades.  What I do know is good writing is good regardless of the genre.

 

9 comments on “Lindsay, paranormal romance community, and strays

  1. Lepplady
    December 31, 2012

    These few liars and scammers poison the waters for legitimate small presses. After reading horror stories like this, authors are wary of approaching any small press for fear of being cheated. Yet more victims affected by such a ruthless scam.

  2. cussedness
    December 31, 2012

    That’s what places like Preditors and Editors is for. You can go and check whether there is a “not recommended” on the company there.

  3. Lepplady
    December 31, 2012

    Thank goodness Phoenix Fire is on there now.
    And you.

  4. Lepplady
    December 31, 2012

    And thank you, I mean.

  5. cussedness
    December 31, 2012

    You don’t have to thank me. There are a lot of us working on shutting them down. Most of us are not from the paranormal romance field, but we don’t like scammers taking advantage of new authors and we will take up for our sisters and brothers in the many kingdoms of genre.

  6. cussedness
    December 31, 2012

    Why don’t you go grab a nap, Lindsay? You sound sleepy.

  7. Lepplady
    December 31, 2012

    Did she drop by again?

  8. Rusty
    January 1, 2013

    Did she drop by again?

    Yes, on the previous entry. Yip, yip, yip, yap …

  9. Lepplady
    January 1, 2013

    Nobody showed up to play so she’s over there talking to herself on her own blog, too. It would be sad if it weren’t so pathetic.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

