Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Interesting doings


I had a very interesting exchanges of emails with Tabetha Jones concerning Beth Wright.  Tabetha threatened to sue my company if I publish Beth’s books without first paying Tabetha $700. I, of course, refused.  I warned Tabetha not to contact Beth or I would take legal action. I pressed Tabetha for access to her attorney so that we could have it out in a court of law. Tabetha changed the subject.

Now Tabetha is going around telling people that she intends to sue my company, Daverana Enterprises, if we publish Beth. I refused to put up with that. Beth had a contract with Mystic Press, not a contract with Phoenix Fire Publishing. All rights were returned to the authors, yet Tabetha went ahead and published their books.

When Beth asked about her royalties, she got the runaround from Tabetha.

Daverana will be publishing those books and there is nothing that Tabetha can legally do. There are a few games she can play, but that’s all, just games.

Beth is under my protection. That’s how it is.

29 comments on “Interesting doings

  1. Amanda
    February 5, 2013

    Par for the course when dealing with Tabetha. Lots of threats, lots of talk, and all that is underneath is a bunch of school yard games.

    Congratulations to you, Beth! I am glad that you have found a real publisher willing to make your work shine as it should.

  2. Lepplady
    February 5, 2013

    I hope somebody’s reporting Tabetha for theft. She had no right to publish those books or accept payment for them. I wonder if the IRS knows about all that illegally gained income.

    Congratulations, Beth! I’m so happy you found a REAL professional in the field that knows what she’s doing.

  3. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    all my life, people discounted me because of my small size until I whipped the biggest of them. Tabetha will learn the same lesson.

  4. Tabetha Jones
    February 5, 2013

    Saturday

    10:43pm
    Tabetha Jones
    Royalties have hit and was wondering if you knew how to invoice? I am still learning the paypal system and it would make it easier for you to invoice me. The total of 7.96 that has a dollar added for fees. Now that isnt all royalties yet that is only createspace and kindle. And you also have to remember you were not up that long. If you need help invoicing just let me know. On the description line put invoice for royalties

    Copy and pasted from my facebook inbox sent to Beth’s I still have them so dont tell me that I gave Beth the runaround on royalties. If you would like the same message via email I’d be happy to send. I also have proof that she agreed and signed for Phoenix. Her money order will be in the mail this week for them and I will have confirmation on that. And the reason for the money order is to prove she received them. The reason for registered mail is so she has to sign. Please if you are going to talk about me at least get the facts right….

  5. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    What royalty period are these supposedly from? The quarter that ended in August, which is the first quarter than you had Beth’s books, should have had a royalty statement out no later than october 1st. If you’re talking about the royalty period ending in December, then the statements should have gone out on Feb 1st. Considering the sales ranking on Amazon, Beth’s books sold a lot more than what you are paying her for.

  6. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    Another things, Tabs, you’re shooting your mouth offf about suing me when I bring Beth’s books out. I want you to know that I have prepared to counter sue you. I am eager for our day in court.

  7. Lepplady
    February 5, 2013

    There are authors that are still waiting for the royalties that were supposed to be due them immediately upon termination of contract when Mystic Press closed down.

    For various reasons, there is not (and never was) any contract between Beth and PF, so not only can Beth do as she pleases with her work, but you, Tabetha are a thief. Not that that’s any shocking news as you rip people off left, right and center.

    Good luck reporting that illegal income to the IRS. You might think that authors are smart enough to sort you out, but I guarantee the feds are.

    But, okay. Let’s take a look at your post.

    First, authors shouldn’t have to “invoice” you. It’s their pay. Send it to them. Don’t make them demand it. They’re not beggars at your door. They’re the people that make the money that you steal from them. They earned it.

    Second, You have paypal. God knows you take money FROM people that way. So why not send it TO them that way? What’s with the money order?

    And third, you cheat authors out of royalties. There’s ample proof of this. So whatever Beth does get out of you, she needs to get a sales report to go along with it. A real one, not one of those doctored pieces of fiction you try to pass off so that you can keep more than you’re entitled to. Not that you deserve a penny of it.

    And while you’re at it, don’t forget to send Beth those 1099 forms so she can properly report her income to the IRS. You may tend to get creative with your finances at tax time, but there are those of us that like to keep things legit. The IRS tends to get cranky when people cheat.

    You’ll learn all about that.

  8. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    In order to get those, she needs a federal tax ID. The tax ID is free and so are the 1099 forms.

  9. Lepplady
    February 5, 2013

    Ah, right. And Tabetha doesn’t have one. What a shock.

    Funny that she says in her contracts that she’ll provide one. If her books were as creative as the fiction she comes up with to cheat people, she might actually sell a few.

  10. mikebrendan
    February 5, 2013

    Lesson #1: Money comes from the publisher to the writer. They supply you product, you pay them. Yes, it’s that simple, Tabby, full stop. It’s up to the publisher to keep an honest accounting of sales, not the writer, as you seem to infer here.

    Lesson #2: If the exchange went such that you threatened to sue if you weren’t paid money first… that could be considered extortion. That all depends on whose lawyer presents the best case. Oh…wait… you don’t have one, so Ben Franklin’s Rule applies.

  11. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    You sent her a contract, Tabs, but she never signed it. How about you email me a scanned in copy of the contract with her signature on it? I’ll then have a handwriting expert look at it and then we’ll sue you for fraudulent forging of a signature.

  12. Lepplady
    February 5, 2013

    Both Beth and Cuss could pick up the phone and call the Waco pd to report that. And the beauty is that we’ve all seen the proof. How many years can she get for that?

  13. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    Did you know she would not send me any proofs to her claims? Nor would she send me a copy of the release form she wanted Beth to sign? she was not dealing in good faith with me.

  14. Lepplady
    February 5, 2013

    Tabetha doesn’t have any contract between Beth and PF to show. She’s referring to Facebook conversations that she claims are legally binding as a contract.
    I can’t WAIT to see this in court!

  15. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    They are not legally binding. Furthermore, I just thought of another way that Tabs might try to fake this. But I’ll tell you in email.

  16. Tabetha Jones
    February 5, 2013

    You claimed Cussy to have documentation that you bought out her rights and paid her advance royalties. Yet when I asked to see that documentation, you said quote “Go fuck yourself” or would you prefer I copy and paste all our emails here for the world to see. As far as running my mouth about suing you, I stated that to YOU, not everyone under the damn sun. For someone that bashes another on being professional I did not receive one professional email from you at all. I asked in a kind profeesional manner for proof of said bought out rights and you quickly changed the subject. You have no grounds to take me to court. I on the other hand have messages vis facebook, which yes, can be used in court, via email, all from Beth with agreements for not only the anthologies that I was kind enough to dismiss her from, but several other pieces of work she offered to publish with Phoenix. And you cannot buy out rights that do not belong to you. Those rights are still owned by Phoenix. You said that I could not contact Beth, do you own her now? Did you buy her out as well? And I see that your email was sent shortly after mine and Beth’s conversation on the matter, so it is plain to see that this is something that has been in the works for awhile, which is fine. I don’t like rats. Also to make something very clear, and I dont mind copy and pasting that as well, there were never any threats made to Beth or against Beth. We simply were explaining the repercussions of what was going to happen if she decided to leave Phoenix without proper termination. Phoenix Fire backed Beth Wright fully. We paid everything, totaling $595 not $700, as you claim. A termination fee to break contract early with Phoenix is 350, she had 2 books with us, plus standing agreements for 3 anthologies. So, she is getting off quite easy if you ask me. This is not about money, this is about principle. Beth stated that she had too much on her to publish self and with a company therefore she wanted out, yet, obviously the stress that she was under was all a lie, to sign with you. I have messages dating back to the very beginning with Beth. All of them praising us for all the hard work we were doing and how much she loved and appreciated what we were doing for her. Shall I paste those too. As for the release form, that does not go to you Cussy. Did you sign with Phoenix? Did you agree to publish with us? No, I believe not. The signature required is Beth Fullaways not Janrae Frank. I never stated that I would send you a copy, but did say that it was Beth’s signature that was needed. I also recall telling you to have your attorney contact me since you said I was not allowed to contact Beth since you bought out her books. Until that release form is signed and the fee of 595 is paid, Desire and Fate and The Devil’s Pet Kitten belong to Phoenix. Now, take they have been removed from sites, although being in the business for 35 years as you stated in your email, you should know that any used copies through amazon will continue to be on sale until they are out of stock. Now if there is anything else that you fail to explain in the proper manner instead of trying to make yourself look good, I will be happy to screen shot the emails and post them.

  17. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    Wow, wall of text. Have you not heard of paragraphs? Post away, Tabs. I was going to be polite and not post them. You see, I was blind cc’ing them to 10 other people every time I replied. The world already knows what each of us said.

    The onus is not on me to give you anything, but on you to prove that you have ownership. And as the guardian of my writers, in my regalia as Paladin of Curmudgeonry, I will stand between them and the enemy — which in this case is you. Show me an itemized account of how that money was spent. After all, i know what things cost. BTW, your edit of the books was shoddy.

    Beth never signed with Phoenix. She signed with Mystic. Mystic went under and all rights were reversed, both according to an email you sent and the Mystic contract. Beth never signed a contract with PF. Furthermore, demanding money on this is extortion. That makes you an extortionist. That’s a federal crime.

    Go ahead and post anything you like.

    There are no skeletons in my closet, they’re all hanging from the yardarm.

    But there are a lot of skeletons in yours, which I am ferreting out.

    I have a crack criminal investigator who will find every parking ticket and everything else about your past. Shall I post those reports as they come in? Or will you just go away?

    Standard procedure for legal action is that YOUR attorney contacts me first. and then I send the complaint to MY attorney.

    And, yes, I did send Beth Wright an advance against royalties. I don’t often do that, but in this case it seemed to be the right thing to do. Half on signing and half on publication. that’s standard practice also.

    The moment you give me a proper reason to either sue or counter sue, I will have my attorney contact you. You are getting very, very close to giving me that reason. You had best watch yourself, Tabishit.

  18. ericlh
    February 5, 2013

    It amazes me that there are some people like this individual who try a stunt like this and think they can get away with it. After reading this a couple of times…actually a bit more than a couple of times…half asleep and it needs to sink in…the word “Scam” comes to mind. I don’t know this Tabetha Jones is (is she supposed to be an agent or something), but she picked the wrong person to try a stunt like this on, especially as you know the person she apparently has claimed to represent. There are some people who think with enough bluster and b.s. they can get away with things like. Good for you for backing her into that proverbial corner and doing what you can for Beth. I wonder if she even knows anything about what that person is trying to pull. I’ve known Janrae for more than a few millenium and as far as I am concerned, she is someone I would no qualms about believing in. I don’t usually make a statement as long as this, I felt I ought to say my bit about Janrae and her standing up for Beth. And as I said, this Tabetha individual picked the wrong person to b.s. There is damned good reason that Janrae picked that profile…I’ve seen her get angry/pissed off and you don’t want to be the object of her anger. As a certain TV lawyer would say, I rest my case.

  19. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    thanks, Eric. I still love you after all these years.

  20. Rusty
    February 5, 2013

    Whats this bullshit about “registered mail” so Tabetha can get a delivery signature for it? Certified mail is much less expensive, and provides a delivery signature. Harry Winston used registered mail to send the Hope diamond to the Smithsonian. It’s hardly necessary, given that all Tabby wanted was a delivery signature. A check for less than $8 hardly warrants being kept under lock and key at every step of its journey through the postal system. Tabby is blowing gas out her ass.

  21. Lepplady
    February 5, 2013

    ” I asked in a kind profeesional manner for proof of said bought out rights”
    Kind? You? Only when you’ve got something to gain from it.
    Your spelling is real profeesional too.

    “agreements for not only the anthologies that I was kind enough to dismiss her from,”
    There’s that word, kind, again. You weren’t kind. You were overbearing, intimidating, unprofessional and scheming. It’s not kind to “let” someone out of an agreement that you don’t have in the first place. Nobody on the face of the planet is legally bound to you except that poor kid of yours. Anybody else can walk away from your thieving ass, and the quicker the better.

    “Those rights are still owned by Phoenix.”
    Um, no. Never were.

    “We simply were explaining the repercussions of what was going to happen if she decided to leave Phoenix without proper termination.”
    No. You were threatening someone with a harmful action if you didn’t get money they don’t owe you. There are a couple words for that, and I hope you get slapped with all of ’em.

    “We paid everything, totaling $595 not $700, as you claim.”
    That’s what publishers do. They cover the expenses for a book to come out then make their money from their properly earned cut of the royalties. Not how you do it, taking money from authors and failing to deliver a satisfactory product.

    “A termination fee to break contract early with Phoenix is 350, she had 2 books with us, plus standing agreements for 3 anthologies. So, she is getting off quite easy if you ask me.”
    Sure she is. She’s walking away from you, paying NOTHING, which is exactly what she owes you. And good riddance.

    “This is not about money, this is about principle.”
    Yes it is. Everything’s about money to you, how much you can bilk an author for and scheme to keep.
    You wouldn’t know a principle if it bit you on the ass, and that’s quite a target.

    “The signature required is Beth Fullaways not Janrae Frank.”
    No it’s not. There is nothing required of Beth Fullaway except that she put you behind her, and maybe see you across a courtroom. I’d buy tickets to see that.

    “I also recall telling you to have your attorney contact me”
    I’m sure she will, just as soon as you provide your attorney’s contact details.

    “any used copies through amazon will continue to be on sale until they are out of stock.”
    And I’m sure you’ll lie about those so you can keep the royalties. Which will it be this time? That none of them sold? Or that they were all returned? You’re such a scam.

    “instead of trying to make yourself look good,”
    She doesn’t need to TRY. Standing next to you, Quasimodo looks like the Venus De Milo.

    The only thing more massive than your colossal inbred ego is your capacity for bullshit. Beth doesn’t owe you a damned thing. Nobody does. You’re a liar and a thief, and Beth is well rid of you. Anybody smart enough to walk away from you is.

  22. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    tabs doesn’t know how an anthology is supposed to be done.

  23. InTheKnow
    February 5, 2013

    Hi janrae, see my comment on your previous post about the contract…Beth owns her rights, they don’t transfer from MP because MP went out of business, it was not sold 🙂

  24. cussedness
    February 5, 2013

    that is actually what I was certain of, which is why I gave Beth a contract and an advance.

  25. ~eyeworm~
    February 5, 2013

    “We paid everything, totaling $595”

    uhhhh~~~ List what these payments covered, would ya, piggy? cos last we checked, your authors be payin’ ALL the costs, with you in profit~~~~~~~~~

    what? 3 proofs, some posters and sweet fuck all else is what.

  26. Ramsey Campbell
    February 9, 2013

    The HWA has been alerted, Janrae, and is dealing with it.

  27. cussedness
    February 9, 2013

    Thanks, Ramsey.

  28. Ramsey Campbell
    February 14, 2013

    Interesting how quiet everything has grown (at least here) since HWA and SFWA were mentioned.

  29. Lepplady
    February 14, 2013

    Might be quiet, but the wheels are still a-turning 😉

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

