Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

Phoenix Fire: Stupidity in advertising


One of the challenges of doing promotions on the web is the blog tour. There are many reputable places you can go to for good tours at reasonable prices. One that I cannot recommend enough is Orangeberry.

However, what is most typical of others who offer blog tours is what is happening right now with Cindy Franks-White at Phoenix Fire. She is getting a three blog tour (which she must pay for separately from the other things that PF charges their authors for) and all three of the blogs listed are just Tabetha Jones in clever plastic disguise.

When you go to someone for promotion, hired or volunteered, please check that they are a genuine company. There are just as many scam promoters as there are scam publishers.  Google is your friend. The best way to check is to put in the following search phrase: “(company name) complaints.” You’ll be surprised at what comes up for most places.

ADDED: As a reaction to comments received, I am adding this informative link about blog tours.

17 comments on “Phoenix Fire: Stupidity in advertising

  1. Lepplady
    April 9, 2013

    She’s got people paying for a blog tour that consists of her blogs? Typical.

  2. CFW
    April 9, 2013

    I understand that you have serious issues with my publisher, and that is on you and between you and her. I am respectfully requesting you keep my name out of this. I am new to all of the publishing hoopla and I do not need any of your negativity to fall over onto my book.I have done nothing to you to merit your attention, nor do I want it. Thank you very much.

  3. cussedness
    April 9, 2013

    It’s kind of hard to point out a flaw in a blog tour without mentioning the author whose tour it is. Oh, and Welcome back, Cinders.

  4. cussedness
    April 9, 2013

    http://www.examiner.com/article/is-a-virtual-book-tour-worth-it
    Read that and compare what they got to what Tabs has given you.

  5. Lepplady
    April 10, 2013

    CFW, you should recognize that Cuss and the other people here are trying to point out that any negativity that falls over your book (and your writing career after that) are going to come from your bogus “publisher”. Not those who are trying to keep you from getting ripped off.
    We’re trying to help you, hon. Not hurt you.

  6. cussedness
    April 10, 2013

    Also, nothing I said here reflects negatively on Cinders. The only thing that reflects negatively on Cinders are the comments she has left on my other posts. I also wonder how Cinders found the post so fast.

    Another point to make here, is that it is not somehow my fault that tabetha is a scammer and does scammy things. She could choose to do right by people, at which point I will stop holding her up as the best example out there of what is wrong with both the internet and the industry I have worked in since I was 23.

  7. Lepplady
    April 10, 2013

    I guess if her standards for her writing career are so low as to be satisfied with a scam artist like TJ, that’s her business. But as a would-be public figure (author), CFW has to be willing to take the bad publicity with the good – if there’s been any of the latter. I suspect that if she wants to stick with TJ et al, she’d either grow a thicker skin or stop looking because the bad press is bound to keep right on a-comin’.

  8. CFW
    April 10, 2013

    My dear sweet ladies, I truly appreciate your concerns. I respect all comments about my writing and hopefully career. I have high hopes that I will do well. As far as so called having to pay for these blog spots nothing was mentioned about money. Tabetha simply suggested all the authors if they are willing, to do guest appearances on other author’s blogs. Which I found to be very sweet and a step in the right direction, in my opinion.

    As for how I found the page so quickly, was simple. When all the other drama was going on i subscribed to the cussy’s corner page, hence how it came to me. Funny though cussy, I don’t remember you being on the Phoenix Fire page, yet you seem to know so little about so much.

    I have a contract with Tabetha, and until that contract is up and maybe a bigger company want my works, I am true to the one that is giving me a start. You are right, I did say a few things a few months back that may give me bad PR, but I was trying to defend myself along with my publisher. Yes, it came off crash and very immature, for that I am deeply sorry.

    Sometimes people get upset, and nothing can keep the flapping of the lips and gums. It comes off wrong and those things cannot be taken back. But I do admit that I was wrong and should have thought more first. Yet, it is hard to be a very nice person when the grammar police and others are on you from jump street.

  9. cussedness
    April 10, 2013

    Funny though cussy, I don’t remember you being on the Phoenix Fire page, yet you seem to know so little about so much.

    Please explain what you mean by “being on” the Phoenix Fire page. I read it. It’s public knowledge, as is her price list and her contract details.

    Tabetha simply suggested all the authors if they are willing, to do guest appearances on other author’s blogs. Which I found to be very sweet and a step in the right direction, in my opinion.

    Yet for you, all the authors blogs you’re on are from the same person. They are all Tabetha. That’s known as cheating. As for “sweet,” business is not sweet. Business is business. Tabetha is calling it a blog tour on her page. Cheating is not appreciated by the public.

    As for knowing “so little,” I assume you mean that I don’t know what is going on behind the scenes. What happens in private does not count for shit. What happens in public does.

    This is not how you conduct a blog tour. Deceiving the public into thinking that three separate people are in your corner when they are all the same individual is wrong and people are too smart to fall for it.

  10. CFW
    April 10, 2013

    Do you really think i am so stupid as to not know 4 of the many authors blog spots that have offered to host me aren’t Tabetha??? Yes, I am still “wet behind the ears” as some would say but I can see that the blog spots belong to her by the names. She is not the only one who has offered to host me, there have been others and nothing as of money has been mentioned.

    Cussy, if you are really trying to help me feel free to contact me outside of your blog. Maybe then we can have an open discussion without interlopers.

  11. cussedness
    April 10, 2013

    These are the four listed, Cinders.

    Tuesday April 9th Cindy will be featured on Inked Reviews with Rai Willis
    http://www.tattooedreviews.blogspot.com

    Wednesday April 10th Cindy will be featured on The Sweete Spot with Zoey Sweete
    http://www.thesweeteness.blogspot.com

    Thursday April 11th Cindy will be featured on Something Wicked This Way Comes with Skylynn Wicker
    http://www.wickedlyreviewed.blogspot.com

    Friday April 12th Cindy will be featured on Tabby Kats Krazy Korner with Tabetha Jones
    http://www.tabbykatskrazykorner.blogspot.com

    Zoey Sweete is Tabetha’s main pen name and she has said that many times in public.

    The pictures of Rai Willis are stolen photos as has been established on Rusty Nail, providing that once again this is clearly Tabetha’s modus operandi.

    The same for Skylynn Wicker. So this is also Tabetha’s work.

    Tabby Katz has long been know to be Tabetha.

    Where is the real promotion? Where do the lies end and the truth begin?

    Oh, dear. I feel another blog post coming on.

  12. You know who I am.
    April 11, 2013

    One of my friends contacted me on Monday. I haven’t spoken to him for a while. We happened to get onto the subject of Mystic and Phoenix. Last year I (foolishly) recommended him to seek Tabs help with a tour. He paid her, and waited, and has now told me it never happened. He has emailed her time and time again….nothing.

  13. Lepplady
    April 11, 2013

    And just for the record, CFW, you do not have a contract with Tabetha. The company doesn’t exist legally, so neither does the contract. You don’t have to wait for it to be up to walk away from TJ. You can split any time you want and there isn’t a single legal thing she can do to you.
    Scam and fraud that she is, do you really think she would really sue? The last thing she wants to see is the inside of a courtroom.

    She isn’t giving you a start in the writing industry. She’s using you. She took your money up front, and I’m willing to bet that you haven’t gotten anything near the royalties you’ve earned, nor will you. The simple truth is that there isn’t a single thing she’s made you pay for that you couldn’t have done for yourself for free. Think carefully about that before you decide to continue with somebody that’s taking your money.

    Look at the way she talks about us, the authors, artists and editors she’s ripped off before and ask yourself this question: When you finally realize what she’s done to you, your book and your career, when you call her on it and decide to break free of her, how do you think she’ll talk about you?

  14. Lepplady
    April 11, 2013

    Oh, look. Somebody’s trying drive the rating down for this post. I wonder who that might be?

  15. Aspiring Author
    April 16, 2013

    I happened to stumble across this blog when i was looking at Phoenix to publish. I contacted Tabetha asked her point blank about all of this. She had no hesitation with telling of what had happened.

    I have spoke with a few authors. Anna Lovelace happens to actually be a real person. But she is using a pen name. Skylynn is actually real as well. It took me signing up on a background website but I found out.

    I do my homework before getting involved with anyone. I just don’t understand the obsession you have with this woman. You do not hold a contract with do not work with her yet you trash her any chance you get.

    I have a copy of the contract and it is NOT the one you put up on this blog. You or whoever sent it to has altered it. I have had my laywer even look it over and it is legal and binding.

    Also where Tabetha lives you do not have to register for a business. Phoenix Fire is a legit and legal company.

    I have looked at this site and just find it sad that you have this unhealthy obsession…all of you. It seems you and this Lepplady are in need of a few medications.

    BTW Phoenix does not charge their authors for advertising. It is part of what they provide when you sign on with the company.

    Maybe just maybe you all need to back away and see how wrong you are for the trash and lies you are posting here.

  16. cussedness
    April 16, 2013

    According to Intelius, neither of them are real. Now, unless you are willing to show me the link to the site you used for your background checks, i suggest that you re-examine how you wish to present your utter bullshit. Certain internal patterns in this suggest a bunch of other alts who have posted in the past and I am amused that we have come back around to this one. Tabetha is still required to have a federal tax ID, regardless of what her state requires.

  17. Lepplady
    April 17, 2013

    What is that smell? Texas troll shit, maybe?

    She actually is right. In her state and county, certain types of businesses don’t require registration. But that’s not the kind of business she runs, so that excuse doesn’t fly. I’m not going to elaborate so that she can’t try to scramble and fix it before the IRS is finished with her. They’ve been notified about everything she does wrong and they’re taking a nice, long look at her, especially now that tax season is over. Did she file properly? We’ll see.

    Every other word, though, is self-serving damage-control PR. “Look. Someone who’s finally willing to stand up and tell the TRUTH!” Complete rubbish.

    Those other names, and more, are Tabetha Jones aliases. Anybody who argues otherwise is either:
    1) Painfully naive
    2) An alternym.

    What I find amusing is that she actually thinks that posting these protestations is going to convince anybody. If anything, all it does is reinforce the things being said about her, things that she’s earned through her own actions.

    If she put as much effort into actually running a real publishing company as she does in presenting a sham one, she might get somewhere.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

