Cussedness Corner

"My work may be garbage but it's good garbage." Mickey Spillane

It gets worse or maybe better?


Late last year, Barnes and Noble shut down the site that most of the Indies were most dependent upon: Fictionwise.  The reason for a shut down was (in my opinion) an attempt to force the customers to switch to their proprietary format, the nook. As recently as five years ago (does that still count as recent?) a broad spectrum of ebook readers were still hoping for a standard format. Instead, what we got were more and more proprietary formats. Fictionwise provided all formats, just as Smashwords does now.

According to recent articles on Publisher’s Weekly, sales have been so bad for the nook and B&N’s ebook line, that the CEO has been forced to resign and they are going through a big reshuffling.

My own titles sold well when Renebooks was publishing them and they were carried on Fictionwise. Those were the largest per title sales that I made and I was a regular on their Dark Fantasy Bestseller lists. When I founded Daverana Enterprises in 08, one of the first things that I did was to find out what it would take to get our books carried on Fictionwise. We were close to making their minimum requirements when B&N bought them and made the place UNfriendly to the Indies. They doubled the minimum requirements.

Other sites have arisen over the past year to try and fill the gap, but so far as I can see none of them are as big or have the potential to be as big as Fictionwise was.

The death of Fictionwise is a symptom of the way that corporations do business. Compared to the larger scheme of things, Indies like my company are very small potatoes. When one of us gets big enough to be noticed, the corporations either gobble us up or find a way to destroy us.

This is not going to stop me from trying to build Daverana up, but it does give me pause to think. It’s also why I voted for Elizabeth Warren.

Oh dear, you might say, that ugly word has now reared its ugly head: POLITICS.

I cringe when I see the Republicans consider small businesses to be those with slightly under 10,000 workers. They cannot conceive of a business the size of my own and that of other indies. I have seven people on staff and five more who are freelancers. That’s not counting our authors, of course.  Indies like us do not exist in their eyes until we get large enough to get squashed.

On the one hand, I believe that Indies (and I’m talking at this point about more than just publishing) hold the seeds for a better tomorrow. But first we need politicians who are willing to go the distance to protect us from the unjust and destructive practices of major corporations.

If we don’t get political, we will not survive.

6 comments on “It gets worse or maybe better?

  1. Nickolaus Pacione
    July 15, 2013

    I never stole from your vampires you goddamn over rated windbag. When is the last time you published a book under your imprint? The anthology that you were going to steal from my catalog never came to print and you came in defense of an oversexed raging c**t who tried to pirate my first novel before I had a chance to sell it. You tried to fuck me over all my years as a publisher and as an author. So I really don’t care if you are getting noticed again with your e-books because they are never going to have a readership.

  2. cussedness
    July 15, 2013

    Two weeks ago is the last time my imprint brought a book out. Your cock is soooo small the only thing you can stick it in is a red ant. You started the fight with me back in 03 on Gothic.net because I suggested you get a copy of Strunk & White and then you objected to my Lesbian lifestyle and went out of your way to try and punish me for my sexual orientation including going after my child.

    I don’t know why, after leaving you alone for two years, you want to start it all up again. All I can say is “Bring it on!”

  3. Melany
    July 15, 2013

    Her books have more of a readership than yours Nicky! Your readership is one whole person. You probably can’t count her readers because you don’t have enough fingers and toes.

  4. cussedness
    July 15, 2013

    Nicky, I have a huge readership. You only get attention when you go on a rampage. I get attention all the time. Kindly bugger off.

  5. David_Weiss73
    July 15, 2013

    One reader is a lot, considering the fact that my seven year old daughter writes better stories than Mr Pacione. I’ve had the pleasure of reading his story about the Loch Ness monster, and serendipitously my daughter had written one too. While hers was a god attempt at writing a story for a seven year old, Mr Pacione’s work clearly showed he has no talent at all and should give up writing.

    David

  6. secolbert
    July 19, 2013

    He says oversexed like it’s a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

Janrae Frank

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

